HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Align T-Rex 450XL Review

Alex Lewis reviews the T-Rex 450XL as a first heli.

Splash

Introduction

Rotor Diameter:325mm
Length:645mm
Gyro:Futaba 240
Servos:HS-56HB
Receiver:Electron 6
Battery:Thunder Power 3S 2100 Prolite
Motor:Neu 1105-3Y
ESC:Castle Pheonix 35
Manufacturer:Align Corporation
Available from:Your local hobby shop

My Qualifications

Since I am largely a newcomer to helis, I think it’s important to tell you a little about myself as we begin this review.

I'm an accomplished aircraft pilot. As the "airplane guy" technician at my local hobby shop, I have the responsibility of taking care of helicopter customers as well. I’ve learned a lot about parts, brands, quality, and reliability and helped a lot of customers with component selection and repairs. I have gotten my feet wet flying some shop helicopters have learned a lot this year without actually owning a heli of my own. Now I'm ready to join the ranks of owners!

I hope that this review will be a concise source of info to help beginners get started with a new helicopter.

With so many good entry level birds on the market, now is an excellent time to get involved in helicopters. In my search for the perfect beginner helicopter, I looked at the volumes of information available all over the web (including many discussion threads here at RCGroups) and I examined factors such as cost, the availability of parts and flight performance: I chose the T-Rex 450.

Why the T-Rex 450?

With so many great beginner models on the market, why the T-Rex 450?