HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 23, 2006, 07:29 PM
My hangar is,... "almost" full
Everett, Washington
Joined May 2003
3,955 Posts
Discussion
Fournier RF-4 scratch build

I like the RF-4. I built a smaller one (80"ws) a few years ago (see here: http://home.comcast.net/~guilfoyle72/fournier.htm ). During a recent thread here, I got the itch to build a bigger one, more true to scale. Long story short, I searched for 3 views, and started drawing. The drawings are complete enough to build from. I know there's going to be lots of changes and detailing to come, but for right now they are fine. In fact, if I don't say so myself they are mighty fine.

Also, I had the opportunity to get my parts laser cut. I have no experience in this area except for popping them out of their sheets. I've never produced a set of files for use on a laser cutter (or is it burner?). Lots to learn on this project. I'm giving it a go. I'm estimating this will be a long project, finishing in February. I'm doing this in real time and will update the thread often.

Since this >is< a motor glider I thought it'd be OK to post here rather than the Electric Scale Planes forum.

Fred Guilfoyle
Everett, WA.
https://home.comcast.net/~guilfoyle72/
No Step is offline Find More Posts by No Step
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by No Step; Oct 23, 2006 at 07:35 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2006, 07:44 PM
Everett, Washington
Joined May 2003
3,955 Posts
My plans. They are big, each is 36" x 85". Lots of work involved drawing them. Why yes, I do have a screw loose . But I am retired so I have plenty of time to invest in the project.

Wingspan of the model will be 115", Oh and it'll be electric powered. Probably an AXI 41xx on 4s2p 4300 Lipo, if I can keep it light enough.

Fred
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Please visit my Hangar,.....
Old Oct 23, 2006, 07:48 PM
Elmhurst, NY (Queens in NYC)
Joined Apr 2004
7,045 Posts