HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 27, 2002, 11:19 AM
Temecula, CA
Joined Aug 2002
18 Posts
Where to get foam for scratch building

Hi All,

newbie here. I am interested in scratch building some foam planes and was wondering what types of foam work best and are readily available at a local Home Depot/Lowes?

THANKS

-Peter
Peter_L is offline Find More Posts by Peter_L
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 27, 2002, 12:37 PM
Deep Sea
OFallon, MO
Joined Jul 2001
609 Posts
Do a search on Bluecor fanfold and you will find lots of interesting projects. It's available at most hardware stores.
Eric
Navy Diver is offline Find More Posts by Navy Diver
Old Aug 27, 2002, 05:53 PM
Wayne's World - Illinois
Joined May 2002
847 Posts
Hey peter, what kind of foam are you interested in; blue core fanfold, pink fanfold, or white bead board{or yes-all of the above-lol}. Lowes is a fine source for blue fanfold, the foam is a 1/4" thick, comes in a big folded block for roughly $30.00,it has a skin on it which doesn't like to take paint well{but that can be worked around} but does roll very well to make rounded fuselages. The owens corning pink fanfold is more brittle than the blue type, has no skin to deal with, is also 1/4" thick and a big folded block, and runs roughly $27.00 for a pack/block at home depot. Then there's white bead board...I get mine from woodland scenics, available online or at hobbytown's{LHS}. It comes in 1",2",3" and 4" thick blocks that are 1' wide by 2' long. I have they're foam cutter as well to cut these blocks up with, but there's quite a few guys on this site who can help you make a homemade cutter of yourown. If you use CA, ONLY use foam safe CA like "super-gold plus"{from hobbytown or other LHS's}. Two part epoxy works very well for all these types of foam...use 5min for speed and longer curing for bigger jobs. Another source for glue is elmer's white glue or wood glue. Sooooo...what did ya have in mind?