HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 06, 2006, 02:05 AM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Found out a bit of info today the 60 amp esc i bought from warbirdrc.com uses the same chip set controller as the hextronics 80 amp..

the usb cable for the warbirds esc fits and reconises the HEX 80

Must be built from the same base company..

I have been using the WARBIRD ESC in the tl50 with good results. I may try the HEX 80 just for kicks..

im only pulling 50 amps with that setup..

Oh and by the way the motor (My old one) at 34 amps is churning out over 500watts of power..

Im not to sure of the eficiancy I did not tack it but i found it intresting that no one thinks the double komodo can pull it off..
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2006, 02:06 AM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_boy99
This baby actually flew pretty damn level until I hit WOT and then I got
a little bit nose down. That's all.

Overall, it must rank up there with the top 5 maidens!!!


onto the 36'er...

The perfect 36 (remember those ad's) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carol_Doda

and while im on the subject we learn something new every day look here see if you can figure out what i did not know.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...and_performers
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 12:25 PM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Well some time has passed and i thought a report on my moror endevors would be in order..

This wing loved 350 to 500 watts of power..

Now if i could get my komodo to run that hot with out melting the windings..

I have gone through a few of them and the upwards level is a bout 300 watts before it melts. i have wound 3 diffrent tries at about 450 to 500 and they just keep melting themselfs..

I am going to attemp the 257D next with a 4turn motor DLRK and 10 magments to see if i can get the 22,000 RPM te wing likes with out melting the motor..

Keep in mind im goot to about 70 amps with my 4s packs and the 80 amp esc so i have breathing room there

I will kepp you posted as time permitts
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 08:00 PM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
Well I think much above 300W on the Komodo motors just turn the excess input into heat. The laminations are just too thick to turn more energy into power instead of heat.

I am up for trying again with a totally different approach. Otherwise it's tough to get the required thrust and speed that the 36" Demon needs.

B
fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 05:55 AM
More props are better than One
TaSaJaRa's Avatar
United States, AL, Sumiton
Joined Nov 2004
2,155 Posts
Well Paul you already have a outrunner mount on the 36" go ahead and try the JustGoFly 500th I think you will like it.
You should get well over 350 very easy on 4s.
I am at 350 watts + on my AZ _ Shrike and it don't even hardley get warm.
I will try 4s on it this weekend should be 500 watts +. I will let you know what temps I get.
TaSaJaRa is online now Find More Posts by TaSaJaRa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 05:48 PM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaSaJaRa
Well Paul you already have a outrunner mount on the 36" go ahead and try the JustGoFly 500th I think you will like it.
You should get well over 350 very easy on 4s.
I am at 350 watts + on my AZ _ Shrike and it don't even hardley get warm.
I will try 4s on it this weekend should be 500 watts +. I will let you know what temps I get.
asid from the noise the price is the same of close to what i would pay for a HET4 so im thinking im going to try a few more winds before giving up... and spending money on a pre built motor..

also what props are you using
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2007, 10:54 PM
More props are better than One
TaSaJaRa's Avatar
United States, AL, Sumiton
Joined Nov 2004
2,155 Posts
I was using a 5.7x3 on the pylon plane. I am going to try a 4.75x4.75 cam prop. And maybe the 5.4x4.3 also.
TaSaJaRa is online now Find More Posts by TaSaJaRa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2007, 11:36 PM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaSaJaRa
I was using a 5.7x3 on the pylon plane. I am going to try a 4.75x4.75 cam prop. And maybe the 5.4x4.3 also.
I was afraid of that... I like the punch of the 5 x 4.5
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 02:36 AM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
Paul-

How's this for more wattage from the K283???

This one got up to just about 50A static on 3S2P TP 2100 PL packs.
She could have kept going strong.

The last prop I tested I didn't even go WOT. It was a 5.1x4.5 and had
TONS of thrust and should top out just over 100mph.

B
fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 11:18 AM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_boy99
Paul-

How's this for more wattage from the K283???

This one got up to just about 50A static on 3S2P TP 2100 PL packs.
She could have kept going strong.

The last prop I tested I didn't even go WOT. It was a 5.1x4.5 and had
TONS of thrust and should top out just over 100mph.

B
that is nice but is it going to melt in the air...

I think the 283 is really only good to about 350 max watts before it cooks.. just not enough motor to get the job done..

Im thinking the 500th or a LS motor may be the way to go if i want to run the outrunner...

This is much harder that it looks to meet the noise requirments and the watts requirerments..
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 02:29 PM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
Well I have another motor if you want to try but looking back I
think the 36" Demon really needs a motor that will do about 600W+
for all out fun.

A Lsr motor will overheat before the K283 will and you will have to
use 2 of them.

A Neu motor like the 1112/2D is probably an excellent fit!!!

fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 02:45 PM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_boy99
Well I have another motor if you want to try but looking back I
think the 36" Demon really needs a motor that will do about 600W+
for all out fun.

A Lsr motor will overheat before the K283 will and you will have to
use 2 of them.

A Neu motor like the 1112/2D is probably an excellent fit!!!

remember im just looking for a 100 mph wing not a speed freak wing I have that with the TL and if i wanted the noise then i could just mount my HEt to this one too..

Im looking for a good fit for this wing one that will not break the bank and alow a person to slowy move up the ranks of a ritewing..

Im sure if i wanted to make noise and go fast i could so that..

50amps is a bit,, all the 283's i have goten close to 500+ watts just did not last.. I would like to get more than 2 flights on a motor and do not want to have something so hot that it is going to self destrauct.

Did you ever get your 36 inch built..
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 04:36 PM
More props are better than One
TaSaJaRa's Avatar
United States, AL, Sumiton
Joined Nov 2004
2,155 Posts
I think the 500th will get you 100mph easy on 4s and want be all that loud...
Not sure if you can run a 5.5 x 4.5 but I will find out soon on my Pylon plane.
Also a 500T would get you pretty good speed on 4s and you would use a 6x4 on 4s or maybe a 6 x 5.5. with around 40amp static.
TaSaJaRa is online now Find More Posts by TaSaJaRa
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2007, 04:50 PM
resU deretsigeR
PaulVi's Avatar
Dublin Ca
Joined Aug 2004
7,787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaSaJaRa
Also a 500T would get you pretty good speed on 4s and you would use a 6x4 on 4s or maybe a 6 x 5.5. with around 40amp static.
i have run with a 6x4 before and it has a little torque but its not to bad..

So that may be a way to pull it off..

I have to try one more wind before i give up..
PaulVi is offline Find More Posts by PaulVi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2007, 08:42 PM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
It's now next in queue as I just finished a .25 CAP 232 which looks
like it will be fun.

If you want to try the motor I'm all for it otherwise no problem. I think
the 36" will need about 400W to do 100mph which is probably at best
burst speed from the K283.

We can give it another try and Lucien introduces his 30mm+ motors
for DIYers!!!

B

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulVi
remember im just looking for a 100 mph wing not a speed freak wing I have that with the TL and if i wanted the noise then i could just mount my HEt to this one too..

Im looking for a good fit for this wing one that will not break the bank and alow a person to slowy move up the ranks of a ritewing..

Im sure if i wanted to make noise and go fast i could so that..

50amps is a bit,, all the 283's i have goten close to 500+ watts just did not last.. I would like to get more than 2 flights on a motor and do not want to have something so hot that it is going to self destrauct.

Did you ever get your 36 inch built..
fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold 36" Ritewing Demon, RTF!! chuckand Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Nov 06, 2006 08:37 AM
Build Log When less is more (36" Ritewing Demon Project) chuckand Flying Wings 24 Nov 04, 2006 09:42 AM
Best Price On 36 inch EPP Wing Cores? 7thSon Foamies (Kits) 9 Apr 29, 2004 05:45 PM
Tigermoth Kits larger than 36 inch span? windsurfer Scale Kit/Scratch Built 6 Feb 17, 2004 08:41 PM
36 Inch Wingspan Zagnutz jerbear Foamies (Kits) 2 Apr 17, 2003 03:29 PM