SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 08, 2006, 12:49 PM
Joined Oct 2005
26 Posts
Discussion
is magnum xl 15 a good engine?

hi everyone, i saw on ebay a magnum xl 15 for sale. brand new in the box for 40.00$ us. i'm kinda new with this, so is it a good engine for it's size?

thank you
novielo is offline Find More Posts by novielo
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2006, 09:43 PM
London, Ontario, Canada
Joined Jan 2006
1,491 Posts
Here's a link to the questions i had on my .15XL, it had it's maiden flight today and i'm happy so far with this motor, it starts well and has pretty good power. I would suggest putting the pcs. of fuel tubing over the needles as one of the posts in my link suggests, other than that i will tell you the manual said 2 turns out on the high speed needle but mine will only run at 5/8 of a turn out.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4519122/tm.htm
Wayne V is offline Find More Posts by Wayne V
Old Oct 09, 2006, 09:10 AM
NM2K
Ringgold, GA, USA
Joined Jan 2006
1,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne V
Here's a link to the questions i had on my .15XL, it had it's maiden flight today and i'm happy so far with this motor, it starts well and has pretty good power. I would suggest putting the pcs. of fuel tubing over the needles as one of the posts in my link suggests, other than that i will tell you the manual said 2 turns out on the high speed needle but mine will only run at 5/8 of a turn out.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4519122/tm.htm

-------------

And your last sentence describes perfectly why I tell newbies to ignore the "factory settings". Because there aren't any and half the time the factory doesn't know them anyway. Don't be afraid to twist those needles. Just write down the previous setting so that you can return to it at will.
Artisan is offline Find More Posts by Artisan
Old Oct 09, 2006, 11:33 AM
United States, AR, Cabot
Joined Aug 2004
106 Posts
Mine has been going strong for 2 years!