HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 02, 2006, 07:46 PM
Registered User
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Joined Sep 2002
1,496 Posts
Discussion
Sears Clamp on Meter Question

Im getting a 0L signal and beap when powering up the DCA setting on my meter which is new to me and readings cant be done. Ive lost the bloody manual, and wonder whwat this dipslay means. I tried new batteries, and cant find the manual online, or cant ifnd the meter to replace it . Looks like they may not offer anymore. Anyone knwo what "0L" means?
Thanks
stuka is offline Find More Posts by stuka
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2006, 08:04 PM
Registered User
IBbob31's Avatar
I.B.
Joined Oct 2001
562 Posts
Overload!!

BOB
IBbob31 is offline Find More Posts by IBbob31
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2006, 08:58 PM
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined Oct 2004
5,965 Posts
For customer assistace, call 1-800-921-9100, M-F, 9 to 4 Pacific. All the manual says about OL is Overrange Indication. (same as overload)

Bill
ebill3 is offline Find More Posts by ebill3
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2006, 01:13 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,308 Posts
EGADS - it looks like Sears has discontinued it.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2006, 02:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2002
6,586 Posts
There are a few other reasonably-priced clamp-on ammeters on the web that have pretty good specs:

http://www.nextag.com/dc-clamp-on-meter/search-html

- RD
RD Blakeslee is offline Find More Posts by RD Blakeslee
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2006, 03:12 PM
PGR
Low AltiDude
PGR's Avatar
United States, CA, Costa Mesa
Joined Jun 2004
7,720 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy
EGADS - it looks like Sears has discontinued it.
Yup. I warned everyone back on July 30 in THIS THREAD in the Electric Plane Talk forum. Then I went to the closest Sears and bought the last 2 they had in the store for $28 ea. Now I have one in my tool bag at work, one in my tool box at home, and one in my RC flight bag.

In retrospect, I probably should have posted my warning in this thread, huh?

Pete
PGR is offline Find More Posts by PGR
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2006, 03:38 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,308 Posts
There's also a bunch on ebay.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2006, 10:03 PM
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined Oct 2004
5,965 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy
There's also a bunch on ebay.
But, be careful. Many of the low pirced ones do not measure DC current - just AC.

Bill
ebill3 is offline Find More Posts by ebill3
Last edited by ebill3; Oct 04, 2006 at 02:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2006, 02:50 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,369 Posts
Looks the same but cost more.

http://www.powerstream.com/DC-clamp.htm

Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2006, 03:29 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,308 Posts
Let's rebadge it as lipo compatible and sell it for $100.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2006, 09:10 AM
Registered User
E-Challenged's Avatar
United States, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Oct 2000
11,375 Posts
I've seen them on various non-modelling websites. I'll bet Sears will have a replacement. I like mine a lot but have read about a number of defective ones.
E-Challenged is offline Find More Posts by E-Challenged
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2006, 10:05 AM
Registered User
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Joined Sep 2002
1,496 Posts
Im thinking this may be a switch issue. and wonder if dissasembling it might help. Indeed many of the clamp ons dont do dc milliamps with the unit description being misleading. The vendors dont always get the descriptions right. wonder what happened to my unit. Didnt get dropped.
If anyone knows a fore sure replacement, let us all know.
My Sear unit was always close to my wahttmeter readings, and will be missed
Thanks
stuka is offline Find More Posts by stuka
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Sears Clamp On Meter mt_100 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 3 Oct 26, 2006 09:41 PM
SEARS clamp-on meter on sale until Sep. 13th. 717 Batteries and Chargers 74 Sep 19, 2004 12:08 AM
Sears Clamp On Meter mt_100 Electric Plane Talk 4 Jan 25, 2004 10:14 AM
Sears clamp on meter ? rcnutt Electric Plane Talk 10 Dec 18, 2003 08:52 AM
Watt meter or Sears Clamp on meter xterra Power Systems 5 Feb 20, 2003 04:43 PM