HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:13 PM
How high will it go?
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,703 Posts
Discussion
NEsail Diablo 3D build thread

Ok, this is my first build thread. It takes enought time to build them, takes even more time to make a thread about it, but I love sharing with my fellow modelers, and reading their contributions as well.

disclaimer-I do not like the name diablo. What is funny is that there is the name diablo, and opposite the diablo are veggie tales, Christian cartoons. Too funny, like the angel and the devil on your shoulder. But it's just a name, and that is life, so on I go. Someone had a sense of humor when they made this.

First, order of business, install the airelon servos, well they were already installed for me, but no surprises here. I got this plane in a trade at the NEAT fair. Using hitec hs-85mg's all around. I hope they are good enough. The cutouts require small servos, so I am going with it.
antslake is offline Find More Posts by antslake
Last edited by antslake; Sep 23, 2006 at 10:12 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:16 PM
How high will it go?
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,703 Posts
motor mount

Ok, on to the motor mount. For power we are using an AXI4120/14 with thunder power 60003s3p, and a jeti 70 amp

I had to bring the motor out further to meet with the front of the cowl. Being a sheet metal worker, I fashioned one out of 0.50 aluminum. Hand bent in a vise, as I do not have any sheet metal machines here.
Last edited by antslake; Sep 23, 2006 at 10:13 PM.
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:18 PM
How high will it go?
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,703 Posts
break

Whew, that was like work!
Last edited by antslake; Sep 26, 2006 at 11:03 AM.
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:19 PM
How high will it go?
Greenwood Lake NY
Joined Oct 2003
2,703 Posts
Next will be glueing the tail together, be back in a few. That will probably be all I can manage tonight.
Old Sep 23, 2006, 10:04 PM