HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 23, 2006, 09:46 AM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,510 Posts
Question
Bolt and dowel wing attachment

I'm interested in replacing the rubber bands / dowels to hold the wing on my Tower 40 Trainer.

Question:
Two bolts - one fore and one aft or one or two dowels protruding up front with one or two bolts in the rear.

If dowels I understand I need to add add'l thickness to the front bulkhead and would run the dowel(s) through leading edge back into main joiner area.

If two bolts in rear, I was thinking of attaching to the fuse sides (after beefing up a bit) rather than putting on the rear bulkhead to get more seperation... adds just over an inch. Also replacing the balsa center sheeting in the last section of the rear with lite ply for support. Or if bolts go through trailing edge, etc.

I have always used rubber bands so am not familiar with how to proceed.

Pic shows what I have for a nylon bolt attachment assembly x 2.

Appreciate your input,
Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2006, 11:19 AM
United States, KS, Andover
Joined Oct 2005
539 Posts
Two dowels and two bolts will work well. Make sure your wing structure at the LE can handle the 1/4" dowels. Beef up the wing structure there. I'd probably glass it, but I'm not familiar with the construction of your plane. On the back end of the plane, I'd just take some 1/16" ply and glue that to the top of the wing where the bolts will go. Make the ply patch big enough to spread the load. Most of the wing load is really being handled by the dowels.