HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 11, 2006, 12:12 PM
A bit more epoxy
Huntsville Al
Joined Dec 2005
127 Posts
Help!
New to gas - things to buy

I've been scratch building and flying electrics, wood and foam, for a number of years but becasue of limited space never ventured into gas. I recently moved to area where I have the room to get into the bigger planes and need some help. I need to outfit a field box from scratch and dont want to spend a great deal of money on the learning curve. I dont have anything gas related yet and would like a list from experienced pilots who know. I would like to have equipment that will grow with the scale of the engine and plane. Thanks for any help you can lend.
mnewman is offline Find More Posts by mnewman
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 11, 2006, 12:36 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,453 Posts
The equipment will be the same regardless of plane size. Just depends if you want convenience or not... Chicken stick or electric starter, Electric fuel pump or hand crank, etc. When I first started, I flipped my motor by hand (chicken stick - cheap), had a hand pump for my fuel (cheap) and a battery with a glow clip - cheap).
Mike

To get an idea, go to tower and search on field boxes.. at the bottom I believe are some complete Kits - box/tote and the electric items.. all inclusive about 100 bucks. Thats the price of a big lipo so not to bad!
field box link: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXL419&P=7

Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Sep 11, 2006, 12:46 PM
A bit more epoxy
Huntsville Al
Joined Dec 2005
127 Posts
After the a handful of years learning about electrics getting into gas engines is a little daunting. Mainly, my fear is the investment, only to find that everyone with experience use different gear.
mnewman is offline Find More Posts by mnewman
Old Sep 11, 2006, 01:23 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005