HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 06, 2006, 10:14 AM
london
Joined Sep 2006
5 Posts
Discussion
Indoor Flight/Walkalong Gliders Request for Info/Contacts

Hi all,

I'm an artist based in London doing some research into indoor flight, with special emphasis on walkalong gliders.

I came across the walkalong glider via the PBS scientific frontiers show featuring Paul and Tyler MacCready and was immediately stunned by it.
http://www.pbs.org/saf/1109/segments/1109-6.htm

I'm looking to make a documentary of some sort (it could take a number of forms; exhibition, video, small publication etc) about the history of walkalong gliders, their place within the modelling community, their development and the people who build and fly them. I'd appreciate any information or links that anyone could contribute.

I've already discovered Phil Rossoni's X-surfer homepage which has been an invaluable resource, thanks Phil - It would be great if you could get in touch - the walkalong butterflies are incredible!
http://www.geocities.com/x_surfer2004/

I would also be particularly interested in speaking to Jonas Romblad and Koichi Tanaka. (I've been making attempts at building the hangflygar'n for a while now with varying degrees of success).

But please, anyone else who might be interested in getting involved with the project or has some information to pass on, no matter how tenuous it may seem, it would be great to hear from you. At this early stage all information is more than welcome.

I hope I'm not breaking forum etiquette not having much background in modelling/RC, but I am genuinely interested in this subject and would love to hear from all of you.

Many thanks,

Simon Davison
lightbeacon is offline Find More Posts by lightbeacon
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 06, 2006, 10:24 AM
Team30 Micro EDF
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Joined Apr 2004
2,056 Posts
Walkalong glider pylon race video
MegaTesla is offline Find More Posts by MegaTesla
Old Sep 06, 2006, 11:13 AM