HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 02, 2006, 11:19 PM
Registered User
HavingFun2002's Avatar
Reston, VA
Joined Feb 2002
1,013 Posts
Discussion
Setting up the Spektrum DX6 for Throttle Hold (Heli)

Iíve been using the Spektrum DX6 with both my TREX 450XL and my MaxIR, with some good luck.

However, Iíve run into something funny, or perhaps just my inexperience with Helis. Iím looking to mix Throttle Hold on my MaxIR, or holding the throttle at a specific position and mixing in a pitch and throttle curve for Throttle Hold as well.

While I can set the Pitch Curve for Hold (if hold is activated), I canít get to the Throttle Curve settings for Throttle Hold, even though the manual states that they will show up ďwhen the hold function is activated (page 8),Ē which it is. I can set Pitch for Hold, as I stated.

Iím assuming the manual is incorrect, and there is no need to set a Throttle Curve when using Throttle Hold.

Also, whatís a good setting for Stunt Mode + or Ė Normal mode? And I assume when you switch to stunt mode you should cycle the ESC to reestablish neutral, correct?
HavingFun2002 is offline Find More Posts by HavingFun2002
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 03, 2006, 12:07 AM
Registered User
Redwood City CA USA
Joined Aug 2000
63 Posts
Throttle hold will set the throttle to a fixed position. Use the HLD function to set this. For an electric, you'd set it to 0, for a combustion engine, set HLD to idle. If you are learning to auto, you can set the hold throttle somewhat higher to set a limit on how low the rotor speed can get.

You switch to stunt mode while flying. The main purpose of stunt mode is to keep power going to the rotor when the main blades are at negative pitch. While in stunt mode the throttle signal to the ESC will never be 0 since you alway want power going to the rotor, no matter what the collective pitch is. To land, you need to switch back to normal mode.
Phil Cole is offline Find More Posts by Phil Cole
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2006, 01:00 AM
Registered User
HavingFun2002's Avatar
Reston, VA
Joined Feb 2002
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Cole
Throttle hold will set the throttle to a fixed position. Use the HLD function to set this. For an electric, you'd set it to 0, for a combustion engine, set HLD to idle. If you are learning to auto, you can set the hold throttle somewhat higher to set a limit on how low the rotor speed can get.

You switch to stunt mode while flying. The main purpose of stunt mode is to keep power going to the rotor when the main blades are at negative pitch. While in stunt mode the throttle signal to the ESC will never be 0 since you alway want power going to the rotor, no matter what the collective pitch is. To land, you need to switch back to normal mode.

Thanks. What's a good setting for stunt mode relative to normal mode?
HavingFun2002 is offline Find More Posts by HavingFun2002
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Setting up Spektrum DX6 so midpoint = 0 drig Radios 0 May 18, 2007 09:44 PM
Setting up EVO mixer to increase throttle with aileron/elevator in FP heli? 14U2NV Radios 11 Apr 20, 2004 10:28 AM
Question Help setting up wires and connectors for Triton?? duganderson Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 03, 2003 08:28 PM
Need help setting up Schulze ESC for heli... Jason M Electric Heli Talk 5 Feb 09, 2002 03:52 AM
Setting up Moto calc for a Hello? Foxtrot Electric Heli Talk 9 Jun 20, 2001 03:17 PM