HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 01, 2006, 10:04 AM
I Crash Things!!
Euclid, Ohio
Joined Apr 2006
146 Posts
Alert
Permit Needed for R/C in Cleveland Metroparks!

I had an appointment in Bay Village this morning. I got there about 1/2 hour early and saw this wonderful open area with no one around (it was 8:30am) grass and no obstacles at the Cleveland Metroparks Baycrafters Huntington Playhouse - basically it is the front yard area between the Playhouse and RT2. Threw Flopsy in the air and less than 3 minutes later I hear "Do you have a permit for R/C flying?" It was the park ranger. I was polite and shut it down. She gave me the main number (216-351-6300) and stated she didn't think it cost anything but may require a club membership to apply, not as an individual. I'm not going to argue with her, but I wanted to share my experience. She said I was a great pilot and the plane was very pretty, but I had to have a permit. Isn't Edgewater part of the Cleveland Metroparks? Has anyone else had an experience with this?

I called the number and was told I needed to talk to Mike Barnhart at x3264, but that he would not be available until Tuesday after 9:30am.

BUSTED!!!
romranger is offline Find More Posts by romranger
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 01, 2006, 10:54 AM
Lazy dog
Lakewood, Ohio
Joined May 2005
2,409 Posts
Edgewater is not part of the metroparks, it's a state park iirc. Different rules.
I've never heard of a permit for the Metroparks, I've always heard that it was just not allowed. There would be lot's of nice places to fly (and slope) but I think the rules were made back before the advent of electric fliers that tend to be smaller and quieter than the gassers. Might be interesting to see their view on slope fliers seeing as how there is no motor/prop. May be worth an ask one day...
OhioPete is offline Find More Posts by OhioPete
Old Sep 01, 2006, 12:29 PM
Mayor of Simpleton
Cleveland, OH, USA
Joined Oct 2002
2,193 Posts