HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 24, 2006, 05:49 PM
United States, FL, Gainesville
Joined Jun 2004
191 Posts
Discussion
Help me with my first gas heli.

Im looking at purchasing a gas heli, right now I fly the blade cp and am pretty good with it I also have been flying planes for the last 5 yrs. I would like to get a gas one. I found one on ebay that someone localy is selling:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AUS%3A1&rd=1

What do you think it is worth, he wants $370 if I pick it up localy, should I go for it? Is this something that is too advanced. Ive been flying my first heli for just over 8 months now and can fly it fine basicly everything but inverted.
SteveCH is offline Find More Posts by SteveCH
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 24, 2006, 05:56 PM
Joined Jan 2006
830 Posts
That heli is an old Schlueter Magic (about 15 years old) - It was a good heli in its day, but I do not think that you can even get parts for them now.

NOTE: in his description he makes it quite clear that it is NOT for beginners and I agree.

But the Radio is very useable and the gyro MAY be.

I think your money would be better spent on a used 30 size like a Hawk IV/Sport or Pro, or a Rappy 30V2 (not V1).
syclic is offline Find More Posts by syclic
Old Aug 25, 2006, 03:04 AM
Ade
Instructor
Bournemouth UK
Joined Aug 2002
1,836 Posts
what is your other heli?

that is a very very old heli. Unless you have the ability to make your own parts i would leave well alone. The rest of the gear with it is equally old and may not be reliable.

Hawks are junk.

Ade
Ade is offline Find More Posts by Ade
Old Aug 25, 2006, 10:40 PM
Joined Jan 2006
830 Posts
Ade,

I am not interested in getting into Pi%$%#ing match over your comment on the Hawk.

But this summer a number of them where flown in a number of events I attended doing some very extreme 3D by some quality pilots (most that were used to big block 90 helis) and proved to impress them a lot.