HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:38 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts
Im building my first self-cut foamie wing

Ive been flying my mini-zagi for about two years now and i love it.
But ive been watching people cut their own wing cores for just as long now, and i really wanted to join in on the fun.

Well i finally found some thick enough EPS foam (none of the home-improvement stores in my area had anything thicker than 3/4") and i got started.

Ive had a bow made for some time now and it works pretty good,
so all i needed to do was make some good templates out of formica and start cutting.

Here is my bow and templates. My bow is a little short. The cutting wire is a G string from a guitar.
Barrett is offline Find More Posts by Barrett
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:42 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts
I had to borrow a digital camera to take these pics. Unfortunatly i didnt have it when i did the actual foam cutting, but here are the beds.
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:46 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts
Here is a wing half. It is a slightly modified MH45 airfoil. The salesman at the place where i bought the foam wasnt sure if the foam was 2lb or 1lb, but i think it is 1lb. It is a little softer than the foam behind the EPP leading edge on my Zagi.
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:50 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts
BTW here is a little detail of the bow i am using. The wire is tightened with a tuning key off of one of those cheapie guitars from Wal-mart, and the clip from my 12v battery charger is just clamped right to the wire.
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:52 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts
Here are both halves together.
Old Aug 10, 2002, 12:58 PM
SKINNI MINI flyer
Pearl River, LA, USA
Joined Sep 2001
645 Posts