SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 17, 2006, 01:31 PM
Cambridge, MA
Joined Aug 2006
21 Posts
Discussion
YANESGT (Yet Another Northeast Sailplane Gripe Thread)

As I am new to flying sailplanes, I ask for recommendations from local club - someone suggests Defiant from NES.

I call (early June) - out of stock I'm told, try in a couple of weeks.

Three weeks later - still out of stock, try again in a couple of weeks.

Mid July - Man (Sal?) answers. States definitively that Defiant has arrived, needs to be kitted and will ship in "a week and a half." Place order for Defiant and hi-start. Am told there will be an extra charge for hi-start shipping and ask that it be sent immediately so that I can use it with another glider. E-mail address is taken so that shipping confirmation may be sent.

July 20th CC charged for Defiant + hi-start

Early August - no shipping confirmations. I call to enquire - man (Sal?) transfers me to woman (Carolyn) who apologizes for delay and promises that Defiant will ship "by the end of the week." Also promises to send hi-start in advance of sailplane as originally agreed.

One week later (Tuesday) - no shipping confirmations. Carolyn apologizes for delay, acknowleges error on hi-start and promises to send immediately. She says that Defiant is being kitted and, although she and Sal are going on vacation, Nick will ship the kits "early next week."

Two days later, hi-start arrives.

8/16, a week later - two phone calls are required to reach Nick. Nick says that Defiants arrived in bulk "late last week" were not kitted and were a much lower priority for him than "day to day" stuff. Thinks the Defiant won't ship until Sal and Carolyn are back next week.