HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 16, 2006, 08:30 PM
Kings Park, New York
Joined Jan 2005
1,236 Posts
Question
Throttle hold / auto question

It occurred to me that if I set the throttle hold to 15-20% throttle for my eRaptor and Logo 14, rather than 0% as I think most people do with electric helis, then I'll avoid having the Kontronik 55-10-32 go through slow start if I have to abort an autorotation. I'm not doing autos yet, but I'm getting close. I have a Futaba 9Z, and I figure I can use the engine cut function as a safety that turns the throttle completely off (0%), instead of throttle hold. Anyone else set their throttle hold that way?
Thanks!
Ken
kenmalecki is offline Find More Posts by kenmalecki
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 17, 2006, 10:30 AM
Planet Earth
Joined Jul 2005
713 Posts
I am no expert either but I am practising auto in Trex 450 and 600.
For sake of safety and time lag to spin up a configurated "slow start"ESC, I am pretty sure than one will go for Throttle hold with throttle set at 30-40% at the beginning. THen I will slowly trim down the trottle% once I feel more confident.
I practise more than 30 "drops" before I am confident to throttle down to 30% stepwise.
I think it takes some time for the eyes to judge the falling speed at certain -ve pitch.
I am not sure any expert will really set throttle 0% unless a real disaster happens. (touch wood).
Please correct me if I am wrong.
tungym is offline Find More Posts by tungym
Old Aug 17, 2006, 10:58 AM
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,724 Posts
"I am not sure any expert will really set throttle 0% unless a real disaster happens. (touch wood)."

I just couldn't resist this - how do you define expert?!

Personally I always set throttle hold to zero. I have seen far more desasters from bail outs too early than any other cause. If you do defeat the soft start and do a panic bail out the chances of giving the gears a hair cut are pretty good.