HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 08, 2002, 11:29 PM
Joined Aug 2001
35 Posts
My beginner plane adventure thus far...

Hi, I am new to r/c aviation and these boards although I had lurked around here for a while and r/c flight has been a desire of mine for a long time, but recently I took the plunge and purchased some equipment.

Along with some replacement parts for my r/c truck I ordered a wattage lightning. I flew it hard for 2 days and tore the little thing apart while learning important things about r/c flight. A few days after that I ordered a new fuselage and wing for my lightning as my electroncis where fine. I actually flew the lightning for about 40 or so full flights although more than half ended in crashes because the plane is so un-responsive and would not fit in my flying feild which is my 3.5 acre backyard although the non-tree part is only 120ft x 60ft.

As the new parts where coming (long shipping time) I found a way to ride to my nearest lhs that carries r/c. It turns out to be 8.5 miles which takes a while on bike. (Hey im only 15) Well I purchased a pico stick and built it. (fuselage version) Then I got my radio and electronics, well, most of them. Anyways I got everything but the kit second hand but it all still seemed new to me. I built the kit over about 4 hours and I enjoyed building the kit very much. I used mostly 5 min epoxy on the kit.