Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 21, 2001, 06:16 PM
United States, GA, Maysville
Joined Oct 1999
235 Posts
R/C Guillow's B-24

Hi folks,

Does anyone have any experience with very small geared electric motors intended for free-flight models? Ideally I would like to turn props no larger than 5" in diameter.

I'm considering building the Guillow's B-24 for R/C. I already have the kit, and, much to my pleasant surprise, it came with very nice light wood.

My general thinking is to go for the bare minimum weight, using stick & tissue type construction and eliminating the landing gear. As I understand it, some of the smaller units from HiLine are intended for models of about 50 square inches and operate on 2 cells. If that's the case, four of them should be about right. Wired together in series four of them should work well with a typical 8-cell slow-flyer pack. But I have no direct experience with this type of motor, with the exception of the little direct drive unit sold by Kenway which powered a peanut scale FF with excellent results.

Any thoughts?
Thanks
Gene
Flyer103 is offline Find More Posts by Flyer103
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: motor gearboxes
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2001, 04:01 PM
Joined Oct 1999
235 Posts
Ralph,
Thanks for all the great info! Question: What is the diameter of the Gunther prop you're using? I need to be at or below a 5" diameter or the blades may not clear. The B-24 is 1/28th scale!
Thanks again 8-)
Gene
RCG Plus Member
Old May 23, 2001, 04:05 PM
Joined Oct 1999
235 Posts
Ralph,
One more question please: Have you tested your setup on 4 cells? The reason I ask is that my ultra teeny tiny ESC is rated for 8 cells max. I'm wondering if it would be possible to run a combined parallel/seriers arrangement (two parallel motor sets in series)
Thanks
Gene
RCG Plus Member
Old May 24, 2001, 03:35 PM
Concord, CA, USA
Joined Dec 2000
328 Posts
The Gunther prop is 125mm x 110mm or about 4.9" x4.3"