HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 06, 2002, 01:51 AM
Qaz52
Joined Oct 2001
33 Posts
JR Voyager... Is it worth the money?

Voyager Pilots...

I've been a gasser heli pilot for some time and am just now getting hip to electric heli flight.. FINALLY!!! I have read a mountain of reviews on the JR Voyager. Everything from a "Piece of Junk" to 5 Star "EXCELLENT"...

What's the real story on the Voyager? Do I have to upgrade to a brushless motor to even get it to fly moderately well. Is it really too heavy to fly well on the stock motor and speed control?

Any input you may have will be much appreciated as I decide how to best spend my hard earned RC dollars...

Thanks,

CoyoteAir
Coyoteair is offline Find More Posts by Coyoteair
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 06, 2002, 02:50 AM
UTAH, SLC
Joined Mar 2001
271 Posts
JR Voyager

It isnt by far the best machine to start with. It is very heavy, but files FF fine with the brushless setup. Do your self a favor and get a Logo 10 if you want small.

I have had 2 voyagers i had to learn my lesson twice.

This is just my opinion.
exowatt is offline Find More Posts by exowatt
Old Aug 06, 2002, 04:00 AM
"Watch this!" SMACK!
Mountain View Moffett Fd, California, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,048 Posts
It depends on what you like to do.

The Voyager is a good machine, but has limits. It is very smooth for normal flight, but falls way short for 3D.

The Logo 10 is a much more agile machine, capable of some 3D out of the box.

The big drawback of the Logo 10 is poor parts availability.

The Voyager stock motor works, but wont get you very far. My recommendation is to use it for a couple of months, save your money, and then go straight to a brushless setup (Hacker B40-7,8 or 9L).

The Logo 10 doesn't come with a motor, so I recommend going straight to brushless.

Search this forum for "logo voyager" and you'll get a lot of hits on this same topic.

BTW, I have and fly both

--jim