HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 18, 2006, 04:38 PM
Monmouth UK
Joined Oct 2004
1,043 Posts
Question
Flybar weigths slow my progress?

I've been flying for 9 months or so and have just started doing stall turns and have been flying with the Align flybar weights on my Trex for about six months now. They were positioned approximately 1 inch from the paddles. When I first added them I did certainly noticed that they made the heli more stable. Lately I feel as though I'm fighting the heli all the time, especially during slow piros and nose in hovering. I thought it was probably slop developing in the head/swash.

Had a crash last week, and when I put everything back together I decided to move the weights all the way out to touch the paddles. The heli hovered great, so good that I found it difficult to move it around, cyclic controls did not seem to response. My initial thoughts was that one of the servos was dodgy. However, I removed the weights instead, and WOW I have a new heli. It would go where I pointed it, and slow piros were back in my control as well as nose in. Sure the heli was more twitchy (I'm going to have to re-training fingers and eyes again), but my commands are no longer delayed and dampened and of course my in-correct commands are no longer damned either.

One of the biggest changes I noticed was that I need to hold on to elevator longer during stall turns otherwise the heli would level out very quick. With the weight on I have to reduce elevator much earlier.

Would it be good advise to anyone who has progressed past FFF is to remove the weights?
hb888 is offline Find More Posts by hb888
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 18, 2006, 04:51 PM
San Carlos, California, United States
Joined May 2002
7,640 Posts
You should have been moving the weights inward while learning hovering, and removed them completely for FFF.

You've left the weights on wayyy too long IMHO.

Toshi
TMorita is offline Find More Posts by TMorita