HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 06, 2009, 02:49 PM
Sideslip!
FlyingLakland's Avatar
West Chester, OH
Joined Jul 2008
1,658 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggs
brake on will decrease the drag and allow it to glide much better.

Diggs
really? I thought it was the other way around? so it gets better gliding performance if the propeller is stopped. okay.
FlyingLakland is offline Find More Posts by FlyingLakland
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2009, 03:11 PM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
Yep, having a spinning prop is similar to having a disc going through the air of the same diameter. A stopped prop has much less surface area to block the air flow. I thought the same myself, as many do. But talk to an actual pilot of a full scale aircraft and they can tell you all about it.

Diggs
Diggs is offline Find More Posts by Diggs
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:04 AM
rather fly, but this'll do
krefi's Avatar
Portland, OR
Joined Feb 2008
784 Posts
My "Swift Patrol" is scheduled for delivery today - Woo Hoo! Better pick up some Goop today on my lunch break.
krefi is online now Find More Posts by krefi
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:16 AM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
O it's a HUGE difference if the prop stops vs spinning. I think Chris educated me on that during an older ATTF episode. I tried it.. and wow...
Found out once my prop fell off my RenoRacer and she floated so well..
Now everything has a hard break.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:19 AM
D'oh.. Dumb Left Thumb
dekan's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Nov 2006
5,398 Posts
Electric model gliders and competition rubber free flight models fold their props to reduce drag to get a better glide...."Brake" is usually used on a esc to get the blades on a model glider to fold..

I prefer my prop to "windmill" on my wings

Full size planes "feather" their props to reduce drag...
dekan is offline Find More Posts by dekan
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:24 AM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
Curious as to why you would prefer your prop to spin freely? I can see this on foamy 3D models where you rarely glide, but on a wing like the Swift, I don't see why you wouldn't enable break.

Diggs
Diggs is offline Find More Posts by Diggs
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:30 AM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Well... it might be good if you have a fast wing and need a "break".. but I like to glide
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:41 AM
Where'd The Wise Men Go?!?
AC5FF's Avatar
United States, NE, Bellevue
Joined Sep 2007
2,972 Posts
Diggs;

I got that HC blue wonder motor yesterday. The mounting holes do not line up w/the holes in the Swifts mount. They are really too close of a match to drill out new holes. How did you overcome that??
AC5FF is offline Find More Posts by AC5FF
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 11:47 AM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
I did a three hole mount. Lined up one hole from the mount and drilled two new ones offset from the factory holes. Plastic is very soft and easy to drill. I think I had to enlarge the center hole for the shaft also. Been a while, so I need to look at it to confirm what I did, but I do know I enlarged the hole for the main shaft and drilled holes for the firewall mount.

I am tempted to take the swift II that I picked up in a group buy this weekend and try a stick mount that would keep the thrust line even with the wing. But, not willing to risk it and I need to sell all that stuff to get my money back and get a free wing

Diggs
Diggs is offline Find More Posts by Diggs
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 12:39 PM
Where'd The Wise Men Go?!?
AC5FF's Avatar
United States, NE, Bellevue
Joined Sep 2007
2,972 Posts
Where's the list?!? I'll be watching the FS/W threads!
AC5FF is offline Find More Posts by AC5FF
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 03:49 PM
Registered User
Wakefield, RI, USA
Joined Jan 2009
94 Posts
Regarding the prop brake its all what you want it to do. With the Swift and Hyperflea I have it set to brake as the glide is much better with the prop stopped. With "normal" planes like my Mini Pulse or Race E I let the prop freewheel. Why? Well it slows these planes down nicely when landing and since they don't glide well anyway it works.

RT
rwthomas1 is offline Find More Posts by rwthomas1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 04:02 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Yeah tru. I'd kick on the prop a tiny bit if I wanted to make her slow down.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 04:14 PM
Sideslip!
FlyingLakland's Avatar
West Chester, OH
Joined Jul 2008
1,658 Posts
wouldnt you think that a foldin 7 inch prob would work great?
that way you can gety the zero drag and not snag the ground
FlyingLakland is offline Find More Posts by FlyingLakland
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 04:24 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
I'm about to use my first folder. (easyglider). I thought about putting folders on my maxi swift.. but the stationary prop isn't that large..
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2009, 09:07 PM
LOVE MAIDEN'S : >
neiloneil's Avatar
norfolk va
Joined Aug 2007
1,480 Posts
my swift is being shipped out today..so im joining the club...im going with the same motor and esc combo that GFBURKE went with..what prop would you suggest? 8x6? i was thinking of going with a 3s 2200 lipo do you think this would be a problem as far as weight or anything....this is the lightest battery i have
neiloneil is offline Find More Posts by neiloneil
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Good setup for a MSComposit Swift II ? myrslakt Foamies (Kits) 4 Oct 10, 2009 02:30 PM
Video Swift II Maiden Sim69 Electric Plane Talk 3 Jan 27, 2007 11:32 PM
Sold Swift II Airbrush line British Scheme TreeFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 05, 2007 10:58 PM
Discussion Swift II from MS Composit? db1 Flying Wings 14 Dec 11, 2006 07:13 PM
Discussion My Swift II + Question highboy Flying Wings 2 Nov 29, 2006 11:05 AM