HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:06 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Hey, I already have Shoe Goo II. Thats convenient. Maybe Ill skip the mount modifications, then.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 18, 2009, 03:27 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Well, measure up your prop. See how far you can scoot it before mounting. (you know... like I didn't...)

My kv is only 1200. So I need(want) to run a larger prop.. but now I may have to cut my wing so the prop doesn't hit it.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 10:31 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
I shot myself in the foot. Pic shows an 8in prop.
Exit plan?


- use a smaller prop
- put the motor on the back with the large screw adapter and drill out the props (more weight)
- cut out some EPP to make the prop fit
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 10:48 PM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
I don't' see that mount coming off easily. And if you do, it is surely going to scar up that nice scheme on top of the wing

This is what I would do.
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail

Install that on the rear of the mount with the included firewall mount and use a GWS7060 sf prop.

Only other options, Cut the fuse to fit the prop, but dude..... I have no idea what that will do to its glide and flight characteristics. It wouldn't be a fair review of the plane doing that mod.

Diggs
Diggs is offline Find More Posts by Diggs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 10:53 PM
Fly me to the moon...
Atom1025's Avatar
Sacramento
Joined Jun 2005
4,140 Posts
Yep do as Diggs says. Dont cut it.
Atom1025 is offline Find More Posts by Atom1025
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 10:54 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
yeah ok, I'll mount her on back.. bleh..
:/
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 11:25 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
I'll keep mine stock I suppose. Im not an accomplished pilot by any means so an easier, less nimble setup is perfect for me now.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 12:12 AM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
I've got the 8x4 and 8x6 HDs in. Thought I ordered 7x but oops.
Think I'll try out the 8x6.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Last edited by GFBurke; Feb 20, 2009 at 12:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 07:21 AM
Crash Master
Gene Bond's Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Sep 2001
16,632 Posts
After having the TE foam get eaten by the prop on a very bad crash, I went ahead and notched it out in the corners.
Gene Bond is offline Find More Posts by Gene Bond
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 10:08 AM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
I was watching some flightpass and noticed most every swiftII had notches or cut out the back for the prop.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 10:44 AM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Were they just using larger props, or did they have the motors mounted farther (further?) up toward the nose? Could you tell?
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 11:10 AM
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
791 Posts
My prop runs even with the elevon hinge line.. so that is about 8 1/2" between the two.. I had used an 8x6 on my previous Swift II when running a 370 outrunner.

I haven't notched the trailing edge of either wing, just put a little strapping tape there in case of a blade strike since I am using a prop saver on it..

Mark
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 05:56 AM
D'oh.. Dumb Left Thumb
dekan's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Nov 2006
5,398 Posts
This a Raven made by FlyingWings a UK company that specialise in Epp planes. It is a very similar shape and size to a Swift.
http://www.flyingwings.co.uk/store/p...93bd7d5c94cee4

It is made of a very hi density German Epp..Its so stiff that no CF spar is needed
I built mine from what flyingWings call a core kit (Foam only) its a very low cost kit about $22 at the current exchange rate http://www.flyingwings.co.uk/store/p...roducts_id=649

Mine has a no Name verison of the Supp 2208-12T 1800Kv motor, 6X4 Apc prop , 18A esc , Corona 4 Ch rx with Azarr mini Aerial and 2 x Esky 7.5g digital servos. AUW with a 1000mA Loong Max 3s battery is 324g

It flys very well... fast or slow the glide is very good. In fact just like a big version of my Mini Swift
dekan is offline Find More Posts by dekan
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 03:09 PM
3D wannabe
smokejohnson's Avatar
USA, OK, Tulsa
Joined Nov 2006
500 Posts
Here are some pics of my progress. I should have it RTF tomorrow.
smokejohnson is offline Find More Posts by smokejohnson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 03:13 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Nice. I couldnt get my control horns to mount straight like yours. The zbend on my pushrods isnt wide enough to accommodate the width of the horn.

How do you like that Rhino battery? I was going to get a couple but Ive had mixed results with Zippys.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Good setup for a MSComposit Swift II ? myrslakt Foamies (Kits) 4 Oct 10, 2009 03:30 PM
Video Swift II Maiden Sim69 Electric Plane Talk 3 Jan 28, 2007 12:32 AM
Sold Swift II Airbrush line British Scheme TreeFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 05, 2007 11:58 PM
Discussion Swift II from MS Composit? db1 Flying Wings 14 Dec 11, 2006 08:13 PM
Discussion My Swift II + Question highboy Flying Wings 2 Nov 29, 2006 12:05 PM