HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 16, 2009, 05:30 PM
Crash Master
Gene Bond's Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Sep 2001
16,632 Posts
2 points, which you may have already tried or thought about:

- Exercise the joint, bending the elevon back and forth several times to loosen the hinge. Make sure there is nothing stuck in the crack, like a booger from the hot-wire cutting.

- Make the arm on the servo as short as possible, to use the maximum throw, rather than turning the endpoints down. This will give you the maximum available torque. On the HXT90's, I'm a hole in from the end on the single arm IIRC.
Gene Bond is offline Find More Posts by Gene Bond
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2009, 06:03 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Yeah, moving the surfaces works but takes work. Leaving them bent out like that over night is amazing. Now they feel like tape hinges. hehe.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 07:11 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Im pressing them now. Got the plane upside down with the flaps bent underneath and a phone book on top. If that doesnt work, I might still cut them and tape them.

Now I have conflicting advice. When I finish pressing the flaps Ill see how they move with the long horns and arms. Then Ill compare with the short arms and horns. I WILL get this bugger to work.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Last edited by LiveSquid; Feb 16, 2009 at 10:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 07:19 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Right on. I didn't put anything on top. Not sure if that would stretch them too much or not.. If anything, flip it the other way the next night. But I don't think I need to do that just after the first time.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 10:31 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Folding them under made a huge difference. Now all thats left is to get my throws right.

Did anyone have to modify the method for attaching the motor mount to the wing? I saw in the op that he cut a notch in teh wing, but I dont want to have to do that. I might drill little holes through the mount and the plane and attach it with bolts or zip ties. Any advice on this?

Thanks for the help, fellas. I really appreciate it.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 10:40 PM
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
791 Posts
I don't think that bolts and zip ties are really required.. I just glued mine on and have never had an issue about it wanting to come back off.. even on rough landings there isn't any stress marks on the foam. I did cut the bottom supports so that I could slide my mount forward but did not cut any of the foam to do that...

Let me know if you need a visual, I can post pics if that would help...

Mark
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 10:43 PM
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Joined Dec 2006
8,859 Posts
Why are you modding the motor mount?

Diggs
Diggs is offline Find More Posts by Diggs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 10:44 PM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
I think I understand, but if you dont mind, pics would be appreciated. What did you use to glue it: CA, super glue (thats pretty much CA, right?) hot glue, two part epoxy, etc?
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 12:05 AM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
I use goop. And some CA for the initial hold (so the goop dries). kinda mixed together.
I did trim the bottom notches to be able to move it up a bit as well.
yeah cA= super glue.
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 08:26 AM
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
791 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggs
Why are you modding the motor mount?

Diggs
It was easier to cut the bottom of the mount and slide it in while working on getting the CG correct... may notbe the right way but it works well for me..

Mark
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 08:31 AM
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
791 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveSquid
I think I understand, but if you dont mind, pics would be appreciated. What did you use to glue it: CA, super glue (thats pretty much CA, right?) hot glue, two part epoxy, etc?
Here are my pics... I did use UHU to hold it permanently and CA just to tack it into place..
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 08:43 AM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Oh!. Glad you posted them, because I thought you had trimmed off the other side.

Whats UHU? And is your ESC packed into the motor mount too? Thats a good idea.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 09:35 AM
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
791 Posts
Glad that my pics are better than my descriptions... =)

UHU is like Goop... like a contact cement that doesnt eat foam
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 09:54 AM
Registered User
LiveSquid's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
51 Posts
Thanks! Thats last piece of my puzzle. Now I just have to sit down and get it done.

The help was invaluable. Ill try to get someone to film me flying it for a minute and let you guys see how it turns out.
LiveSquid is offline Find More Posts by LiveSquid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 12:44 PM
allthingsthatfly.com
GFBurke's Avatar
USA, ID, Meridian
Joined Jan 2007
6,145 Posts
Get shoe goo at wallmart.

I wish I didn't shave off the bottom part of the mount now.. with the motor in the inside of the mount and a shaved bottom.. I don't think I can fit an 8in prop..
GFBurke is offline Find More Posts by GFBurke
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Good setup for a MSComposit Swift II ? myrslakt Foamies (Kits) 4 Oct 10, 2009 03:30 PM
Video Swift II Maiden Sim69 Electric Plane Talk 3 Jan 28, 2007 12:32 AM
Sold Swift II Airbrush line British Scheme TreeFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 05, 2007 11:58 PM
Discussion Swift II from MS Composit? db1 Flying Wings 14 Dec 11, 2006 08:13 PM
Discussion My Swift II + Question highboy Flying Wings 2 Nov 29, 2006 12:05 PM