HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 15, 2012, 06:05 AM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,191 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wishawhunk View Post
Yes thats true. Everyone is different your right. Safety is paramount
Mine is 674grams with all the FPV and FY20 gear on it with a 2200mah 3S, so hard to throw the frisbee way with no motor on.

But it will be slightly lighter from now on as I tried a 2200mah 2S and the difference in performance is not really noticeable. But the Turnigy 2730 Brushless Motor 3000kv is suppose to only go on a 2S LiPo anyway.
Firepower is online now Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2012, 10:21 AM
ExPat
Aero Andy's Avatar
Spain, Murcia, Mazarrón
Joined Apr 2010
1,600 Posts
Hey papa, my best mate lives in Thorpe Bay. I miss the Rossi's icecream, but the weather here in Spain is much better.
Glad you like the Swift II, happy flights.
Andy
Aero Andy is offline Find More Posts by Aero Andy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Phoenix 2000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:05 PM
Registered User
papa_lazerous's Avatar
United Kingdom, Southend-on-Sea
Joined Feb 2011
307 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero Andy View Post
Hey papa, my best mate lives in Thorpe Bay. I miss the Rossi's icecream, but the weather here in Spain is much better.
Glad you like the Swift II, happy flights.
Andy
Its a small world Andy! Really gutted I broke a servo and annoyed that I did it catcing the model. I guess you cant make it up sometimes. I have plenty other models to fly but I really wanted to fly the wing again as it was so much fun. It tracked so well in the air and seemed impossible to stall
papa_lazerous is online now Find More Posts by papa_lazerous
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:39 PM
ExPat
Aero Andy's Avatar
Spain, Murcia, Mazarrón
Joined Apr 2010
1,600 Posts
Here's mine, finished with extra protection for lipo, ESC and RX underneath. I put the servo controls on top, nothing but rough ground to land on here.
Andy
Aero Andy is offline Find More Posts by Aero Andy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Phoenix 2000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 04:37 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,191 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero Andy View Post
Here's mine, finished with extra protection for lipo, ESC and RX underneath. I put the servo controls on top, nothing but rough ground to land on here.
Andy
Nice job - I have always been going to get some EPP foam but it is usually quite expensive over here. I must look again as I have not checked for a while.
Firepower is online now Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 11:46 AM
Registered User
GregSilver's Avatar
United States, FL, Plantation
Joined Nov 2005
655 Posts
The most advanced Swift II in the world - Flown with dragonlink (15 min 19 sec)
GregSilver is offline Find More Posts by GregSilver
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 05:20 PM
Registered User
papa_lazerous's Avatar
United Kingdom, Southend-on-Sea
Joined Feb 2011
307 Posts
Talk about overkill! I love it, I dont think you could fit any more onto your swift lol
papa_lazerous is online now Find More Posts by papa_lazerous
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 05:37 PM
Registered User
GregSilver's Avatar
United States, FL, Plantation
Joined Nov 2005
655 Posts
I think I can. Maybe another few hundred mah of power. But she doesn't fly like a light weight wing anymore.
GregSilver is offline Find More Posts by GregSilver
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
papa_lazerous's Avatar
United Kingdom, Southend-on-Sea
Joined Feb 2011
307 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregSilver View Post
I think I can. Maybe another few hundred mah of power. But she doesn't fly like a light weight wing anymore.
thats the trade-off, you got cool features but a heavy bird! my Swift is still grounded right now till some new servos turn up, but on a plus not I plan to maiden my Skywalker in the morning, I am literally messing with the final config of my eagletree gear and I am good to go
papa_lazerous is online now Find More Posts by papa_lazerous
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 07:08 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,191 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregSilver View Post
Good stuff. I thought mine with FY20 and close range stuff was all right. Not any more.

Is there a picture of the gear on the wing including the pan on the camera anywhere?
Firepower is online now Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 04:44 PM
Registered User
BC, Canada
Joined Nov 2006
22 Posts
EDF 4000 KV motor

Hello, anyone know if a EDF Wicked 4000 KV Cool motor will work in a swift 2 ?
Ron
Ronnie2 is offline Find More Posts by Ronnie2
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 05:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
589 Posts
I put a cheaper ducted fan on a Raven flying wing (swift 2 clone) and it worked fine. Not as good acceleration as with the prop, smoother flight with almost no torque roll which is nice and less battery life.
You may get a better top speed as well depending on the EDF unit you've chosen which i know nothing about. You need to pick one that's a good balance between power and weight and see if you can mount it forward as much as possible to get the right centre of gravity.
Raven EPP rc Flying wing with ducted fan (1 min 58 sec)
teslahed is offline Find More Posts by teslahed
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
BC, Canada
Joined Nov 2006
22 Posts
Thanks, cool, first wing I've seen running a ducted fan motor. I don't know anything about the EDF motors either, I have pictures and they look just like all the other outrunner motors, might give it a try, just thought it would be a good idea to ask before a buy them ( guy has a pair of them for sale ).
Thanks, Ron
Ronnie2 is offline Find More Posts by Ronnie2
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 11:47 PM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
United States, ID, Sandpoint
Joined Apr 2009
749 Posts
How do you launch it?
crobar is offline Find More Posts by crobar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Good setup for a MSComposit Swift II ? myrslakt Foamies (Kits) 4 Oct 10, 2009 02:30 PM
Video Swift II Maiden Sim69 Electric Plane Talk 3 Jan 27, 2007 11:32 PM
Sold Swift II Airbrush line British Scheme TreeFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 05, 2007 10:58 PM
Discussion Swift II from MS Composit? db1 Flying Wings 14 Dec 11, 2006 07:13 PM
Discussion My Swift II + Question highboy Flying Wings 2 Nov 29, 2006 11:05 AM