HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 08, 2006, 01:10 PM
USA, CA, San Jose
Joined Aug 2005
736 Posts
Discussion
Trinity F3F Carbon or Carbon D-Box??

I picked up a brand new Trinity F3F which is supposed to be the all Carbon. Last night I opened up the servo hole covers and there was carbon but if you look down the wing from the spar back is fiberglass. Correct me if im wrong but that would make it the D-Box version correct? I am new to this whole moldie thing but im pretty sure I recieved the wrong wing.

Thanks,

Aaron
P-51flyer is offline Find More Posts by P-51flyer
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2006, 03:17 PM
H.A.L. 9000
Benicia Ca. USA
Joined Jan 2001
730 Posts
Weigh it, or PM Ave, he has an all carbon one. Chris
checkenbach is offline Find More Posts by checkenbach
Last edited by checkenbach; Jul 08, 2006 at 04:21 PM.
Old Jul 08, 2006, 04:16 PM
Detail Freak
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,771 Posts
I would have bought the D-box over the carbon one, anyway; I'd stick with that.
Get with Bob or Annette at SUSA to see if can make you an addition to the long list of happy customers, by making things right, if they aren't.
They are great people.

T
target is offline Find More Posts by target
Old Jul 08, 2006, 06:25 PM
Confirmed Chronic
Pacific Palisades, CA
Joined Jul 2004
9,245 Posts
Never opened mine up (it was the all carbon version) but I'd want the d-box version as well if there is a next time.
screamin' eagle is offline Find More Posts by screamin' eagle
Old Jul 08, 2006, 07:28 PM
Bro
Southern California
Joined Feb 2003
1,946 Posts
Trinity

Aaron:
you got a Carbon... for sure...

The carbon is on the outer skin, you can see the black on the hinge lines outside. Then, there is the base material... in this case, herex.
The inner skin is fiberglass, the herex is the base of the "sandwich"..
The carbon you are seeing is to mount your servos in, to give a stronger base to glue them to. It is only a square patch.