HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 05, 2006, 09:44 PM
hot air rises...
Pleasant Grove, UT
Joined Jul 2005
7,715 Posts
Discussion
Help me design a small fast wing

I've got a few design questions I hope you can help me with. Please bear with me if I ask a stupid question... I'm still learning . I would like to build a very fast and small low drag e-powered flying wing (i.e. break 100 mph under 20 amps ). I plan to power it with a Razor 400 or custom wound high Kv outrunner with TP1320 batteries. I have a hot wire cutter and have cut a few wings so cutting cores should not be too difficult. Oh, and the wing will be made from epp or eps, covered with henry tape and ultracoat.

First question. What airfoil would you suggest? My fastest wing right now (96 mph @ 23 amps) is a 30" wing with a hybrid airfoil of an SD-7032 top and SD-6060 bottom. I think it might be too draggy for really high speed. Searching around I've found that the MH-43 is a pretty popular foil for F5D wings. Would it be suitable to a tailess design? The Rafi #30 foil has been suggested but my google ended empty handed. Does anyone know where I can find this foil?

2nd q. How much sweep should I design into the wing? I'm not completely sure what effects sweep has? I think in increases drag during turns (bad) but also increases stability (good). Is a plank wing going to be the fastest? I'm not sure I'm comfortable with a plank (I have zero experience in that arena). What are the effects to flight when comparing sweep at the LE to sweep at the TE (deep V vs. delta wing)?

Also, what wingspan should I shoot for? I'm thinking 24". Anyone flying a wing smaller then that at over 100 mph?

What else should I be thinking about?
jfinch is offline Find More Posts by jfinch
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2006, 11:10 PM
Nucking Futs
Southern Killafornia
Joined Jan 2005
1,626 Posts
I'm guessing the electric forum or the flying wing forum would be a good spot for this thread.