HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 28, 2006, 05:41 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
i used a 2 mm rod
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2006, 08:20 PM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boeingdvr
Ghee-grose, I couldn't tell if you put a cf rod in the wing? I did on mine and at least that is one part that has not broke
I just looked at the pics I posted and saw I used the stock wood spar. With lots of gorilla glue.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...hmentid=877297
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2006, 08:28 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
pics

just found out that some how my rudder linkage is all glued up or something im gonna try debonder, but heres some pics. the part i hate is the tail it always looks crocked or not fiting good
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Last edited by mecevans; Sep 28, 2006 at 11:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 12:09 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Victoria
Joined Mar 2004
1,491 Posts
Hi Guys,
I bought a used E-starter, but just can't decide what motor to put in it. It did have a Himax 2015-4100 in a GWS gearbox (that the owner kept) and was flown with 3 cell lipo. I'll be using 8 cell nimh to start off with, and can't decide between the himax and the Bp-12.

The price of the BP-12 sounds great, but I read that you need the voltage from a 3 cell lipo pack to make it really shine. I'll be using 8 cell nimh, so am not sure.

I like the idea of the better quality Himax, but have heard horrible things about their gearbox. I asked the manufacturer about prop savers, and was told not to use one with their offset gearbox - the prop could break the motor shaft. Wow. Made me want to rush out and buy one.

So, I'm at square one. It flys ok with the 300 motor, but I have to pull the esc and receiver out of my Beaver to do it. Since I have to buy a 2nd esc anyway, it may as well be brushless, right?

Suggestions?

Thanks,
Colin
ColinB is offline Find More Posts by ColinB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 08:45 AM
Ranfred Radius's Avatar
Central Point, OR.
Joined May 2002
2,922 Posts
A PJS 550 3D outrunner(from Hobby Lobby) 10x4.7 APC prop and TP 1320 3s lipos will give you this performance on your E-Starter!!...
http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...12588367543542

Randy
Ranfred Radius is offline Find More Posts by Ranfred Radius
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 08:56 AM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
Colin, the motor and battery you choose will depend on what kind of performance you plan on getting out of your E-Starter. I find that 3 cells on my BP-12 make too much power than what I like for this type of plane. Keep in mind that mine weighs 12oz without a battery. That's pretty light so a 2 cell gives it great performance. I would say about a 1:1 power to weight ratio with my 800mah PolyQuest pack. I'll say this... I can hover it for 5-10 seconds before it wish-washes.

Now if you want your E-Starter to be unlimited vertical (or yours weighs in around 20oz) then you might do better with a 3 cell pack.
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 10:49 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Victoria
Joined Mar 2004
1,491 Posts
Thanks guys,
I guess my post was more of a rant - just having a hard time making a final decision.
Too much power? Nah! I'm getting good at throttle management. I don't want to go vertical - just a strong climb to get me out of sticky situations. And I need an esc for the plane anyway, so why not brushless?

I am not going to use lipo batteries; I guess my 8 cell pack is in between the voltage of a 2 and 3 cell lipo, so I'm splitting the difference. I haven't weighed this plane, but I think it is on the heavy side. I guess I should before I decide on things! I'll have to stop by the post office...

Randy, I've come across that video before - I liked it then, and like it now. Wow.

Thanks for your help guys. I'll weigh the plane and decide.

Colin
ColinB is offline Find More Posts by ColinB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 04:08 PM
Ranfred Radius's Avatar
Central Point, OR.
Joined May 2002
2,922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghee-grose
Colin, the motor and battery you choose will depend on what kind of performance you plan on getting out of your E-Starter. I find that 3 cells on my BP-12 make too much power than what I like for this type of plane. Keep in mind that mine weighs 12oz without a battery. That's pretty light so a 2 cell gives it great performance. I would say about a 1:1 power to weight ratio with my 800mah PolyQuest pack. I'll say this... I can hover it for 5-10 seconds before it wish-washes.

Now if you want your E-Starter to be unlimited vertical (or yours weighs in around 20oz) then you might do better with a 3 cell pack.
Not sure what you are getting at here... Mine weighs at least 20oz., has unlimited vertical and it will land at a snail's pace!
Ranfred Radius is offline Find More Posts by Ranfred Radius
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2006, 09:54 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
fixed my pushrod i just ripped the bad one out and there was three inches of glue in there
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2006, 09:26 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
maidened today in more wind than usual but it still flew way better than my first one. i made sure that the battery couldent come out with tape,tissue and,rubberbands. i got a pretty long flight out of it mabe 15 or more min with battery to spare , i ended up hitting a batters cage on landing and only the window part broke
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2006, 10:59 PM
Registered User
USA, PA, Philadelphia
Joined Jun 2005
48 Posts
Colin,

Not sure I understand the issue with the HiMax gear box and prop savers. I've been using the Himax 2015-4100 with a 1060 prop and prop-saver on a Slow Stick (Pulls 6 amps, goes vertical on 10C 3-Cell lipo)

The prop saver works great. If you crash hard enough you'll break a gear, put they're inexpensive and real easy to replace (ask me how I know...).

I've sheared off the first ten inches of fuselage, but the original HiMax Motor shaft still spins true (It was easy enough to pull out and put back in to check)



Ghee-Grose, what's the deal with Gorilla Glue? Should I get rid of my 5-min epoxy?
pamtri is offline Find More Posts by pamtri
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 12:03 AM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,301 Posts
Gorilla Glue is a great glue for foamies, it seems to penetrate the foam better than epoxy does..
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 12:46 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Victoria
Joined Mar 2004
1,491 Posts
Hi Pamtri,
About the Himax gearbox and prop savers: I was surprised as you were. Heres the response I got from Himax:

-------
Please do not use a prop saver with the offset gearbox, if a prop tilts for any reason and hits the motor shaft it will snap motor shaft right off.

gearbox spec sheet : http://www.maxxprod.com/pdf/HG20xx-xx66.pdf
Travis

- ColinB <...@hotmail.com> wrote:
- Good morning,
-
- Could you tell me which prop saver would fit on the ACC3966
- gearbox? The specs are not clear to me - does the gearbox
- have a 2mm smooth shaft where the prop adapter or prop
- saver would be mounted?
- Thank you for your time,
- ColinB

Which prop saver did you use? The type where the screws contact the drive shaft to hold it on? Or is your drive shaft threaded, and you can just bolt on a servo arm? (which is what I've done on my Beaver. Works great.)

Anyway, I'm looking for someone with a scale to weigh the E-Starter, to help decide which motor to go with.

Can anyone try their 2015-4100 or BP-12 motor with an 8 cell nimh, 700mah(ish) and compare power to their usual lipo? I know batteries are all different, but it may be interesting. I won't go lipo just yet (until I get a safer place to store and charge them.)

Thanks, and happy flying this weekend!
Colin
ColinB is offline Find More Posts by ColinB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 03:59 AM
0 Carbon fp? don't breed!
DarkHorse's Avatar
www.dhrc.rchomepage.com Gloucester/Cheltenham Gloucester, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Oct 2004
2,161 Posts
mecevans, the damage doesn't look too bad.
I had to search a couple of your pics...
there is an E-starter is in all of them .
DarkHorse is offline Find More Posts by DarkHorse
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 07:34 AM
Registered User
Evansville Indiana
Joined Aug 2006
230 Posts
Just bought my first estarter, and it's my first time assmeblying one also......so far so good. I do have a question on the attachment of the airlons, rudder etc. The guy at the LHS said he found it best to tape them on and not use a hinge. So whats the deal is it a prefence? I'm sure everyone has one....Would like to hear some of them so I can finish today.
dellavex is offline Find More Posts by dellavex
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 07:58 AM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
The hinges are easiest to do with tape, preferrably 3M Blenderm tape. Dubro also sells this stuff in their package for $4.50 but you can pick it up at most pharmacy stores for $2 or less. It's designed for medical uses where tape really needs to stick to skin (or whatever) real good. It is kinda rubbery, clear, and super sticky. I have used it in about 8 planes that I've built and had zero troubles with it. You will save a ton of time instead of doing any kind of hinges!

Good luck on your build

Gary
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:00 AM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamtri
Ghee-Grose, what's the deal with Gorilla Glue? Should I get rid of my 5-min epoxy?

As Tram said... this stuff works great on foam. It's great for any application where there are some gaps and spaces (especially with repairs) that need to be filled. The glue foams up and fills those gaps and cracks making them super strong.

Get some, try it, you will be convinced.
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:03 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dellavex
Just bought my first estarter, and it's my first time assmeblying one also......so far so good. I do have a question on the attachment of the airlons, rudder etc. The guy at the LHS said he found it best to tape them on and not use a hinge. So whats the deal is it a prefence? I'm sure everyone has one....Would like to hear some of them so I can finish today.
I used clear packing tape, after wiping down all surfaces with denatured alcohol to remove the foam release agent, for for the hinges on my first E-Starter which was built "stock". It worked well and I had no complaints with how the empenage and ailerons functioned, nor did I experience any failures.

That being said, my new E-Starter and Beaver will have brushless power and I think I am going to go the "floppy-disc" hinge route because of the increased speed and turbulence that will be going over these surfaces. Others who have gone brushless may have used the tape, and even others who built stock may have gone the "floppy-disc" or other hinge-type route. I guess it all depends on individual assessments, prefernces, and building style. I can honestly say, however, that the tape did serve me well on my stock ES.

Good luck in whatever you coose!

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:07 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,476 Posts
I, too, have heard very good things about the "3M Blenderm tape". The adhesive is supposedly much more tenacious than the clear packing tape. Hmmmm... now you've got me thinking (uh, oh...) since tape IS much easier!

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:14 AM
Registered User
USA, PA, Philadelphia
Joined Jun 2005
48 Posts
Colin,

I'm using the Hyperion Prop Saver 30 (I think that means for a 3.0MM shaft). The shaft is smooth and the screws hold it on. They use a black 0-ring for a nice snug fit.

When I look at my plane, I can see what they're talking about. There are *two* shafts. The one that's easy to deal with is the prop shaft. If you bend that, its easy to remove and fix or replace. The other is the *motor* shaft. If you slice that off, I guess your motor is trashed...

That said, I'll keep using the prop saver. Its saved me a ton of propellers (even on good landings where the plane just noses over in the grass).
pamtri is offline Find More Posts by pamtri
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:24 AM
Registered User
USA, PA, Philadelphia
Joined Jun 2005
48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghee-grose
The hinges are easiest to do with tape,

How do you do the hinge with tape? Do you run the tape the entire length of the hinge (like on a Slow Stick)? Or would you just do an inch of tape at the ends and in the middle.

Did you use tape for the ailerons also?
pamtri is offline Find More Posts by pamtri
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:38 AM
Registered User
Evansville Indiana
Joined Aug 2006
230 Posts
Gary, how close is Athens to Huntsville?

jay
dellavex is offline Find More Posts by dellavex
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:50 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pamtri
How do you do the hinge with tape? Do you run the tape the entire length of the hinge (like on a Slow Stick)? Or would you just do an inch of tape at the ends and in the middle.

Did you use tape for the ailerons also?

I run the entire length of the hinge line to minimize flutter...

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 12:13 PM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
I put a couple inches on each end of the surface, then most of the way in the middle too. But not one continuous strip... I save my tape.

All control surfaces on all my planes for the last several I've built have all been done this way without fail.
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 12:14 PM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dellavex
Gary, how close is Athens to Huntsville?

jay

Athens is 20 minutes West of Huntsville. Straight out Hwy 72 (University Drive). I work in Huntsville.

Are you from around here???
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 12:24 PM
Registered User
Evansville Indiana
Joined Aug 2006
230 Posts
No but I'll be down the in acouple of weeks to attend some training at Adtran..... Maybe we could hook up?
dellavex is offline Find More Posts by dellavex
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 02:20 PM
Registered User
mecevans's Avatar
United States, CA, Monterey
Joined Feb 2006
1,358 Posts
fixed the side and made a litttle mod, i used balsa to reinfroce the side. i moved the battery back more than usual and i found it flew better there i got about a 30 plus minute flight. i got kind of close to some turkey vultures and they tried to chase me but i shook them , besides that no problems.
mecevans is offline Find More Posts by mecevans
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 05:05 PM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
My bro (dee-grose) works at Adtran!!!!
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Evansville Indiana
Joined Aug 2006
230 Posts
Sweet, I got abunch of rc questions.....would you be up for that?
dellavex is offline Find More Posts by dellavex
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2006, 08:06 PM
Honey, I got more planes!
ghee-grose's Avatar
USA, AL, Athens
Joined Jun 2003
4,274 Posts
We'll just have to arrange a lunch meeting!

I'll PM you with my contact info.
ghee-grose is offline Find More Posts by ghee-grose
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My E-Starter build fizzak Parkflyers 1 Oct 09, 2003 02:10 PM
E-Starter Build Question #2 Ralph_D Parkflyers 27 Oct 09, 2003 08:07 AM
E-Starter Build Question Ralph_D Parkflyers 7 Oct 04, 2003 07:52 PM
Oops! E-Starter Build Mistake Awakened Foamies (Kits) 3 Aug 29, 2003 11:45 PM
E-Starter Build and Flight Report (Long) DavidJ Parkflyers 11 Mar 17, 2003 08:51 PM