HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 18, 2006, 06:04 PM
Joined Apr 2005
206 Posts
Discussion
How to keep plans on foam? Basic questions.

So I'm gonna build the Alley Cat. Its 24"x36". Its my first time visiting staples for a full page of plans. How do you go about keeping the plans from sliding around while you cut them out?

Is Gorilla glue the best stuff to use on the foam? I tried Hot Glue, CA, and Eposxy and nothing really held that well. Do I need to remove the paper from the Blue Core?

I'm sure these topics have been hit on before. Not sure what I'm doing wrong but my searches are coming up empty. Thanks guys!
xray328 is offline Find More Posts by xray328
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2006, 06:23 PM
That thing's operational!
New Orleans/Dallas
Joined Jan 2006
4,706 Posts
Hey X,

Hi! I know, this stuff is a little trucky and it took me a minute to figure out these things too. As far as keeping the plans on the page, I usually just add a drop or two of UHU Creative foam adhesive to the back corners of the plans pages to hold them on the foam and let them sit for about one minute. This will hold the paper pretty securely for the amount of thime that it usually takes to cut a piece out, and then you can easily remove the plans templates from the foam as long as you don't let them sit on there for a really long time. Also, I've heard that another good adhesive used for this purpose is 3M 77 spray adhesvie, but it's kinda expensive so I ususally just use the UHU creative glue.