HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 16, 2006, 08:15 AM
Joined Jun 2006
32 Posts
Question
Beginners Questions on Honey Bee MK2

I am brand new to RC and to helicopters of course. Just got the Honey Bee II from Hobby-Lobby for $99. Looks very nice but the manual leaves alot to be desired. The translated english is funny at spots and unhelpful in others. I have a few questions I need to get answered:

1. CG - mounting the battery and moving it as far forward as possible in the battery holder still doesn't allow me to balance the copter. It still leans backward. Is this normal or ok and how balanced must it be?
2. Main rotor blade setting - is there an easy way to set the main rotor blades. Everytime I tried to learn to fly it, I have a mishap and the blades get swept out of alignment. I have been setting them by sight, so they are perpendiclar to the fly bar but if I don't get them close, it vibrates alot. The manual is completely messed up here. It shows someone twisting the blades and pulling in and out, my blades don't move that way. They only rotate around the screw that holds them in place.
3. I know this is a pipe dream but someday if I ever learn to fly it, I would like to mount a wireless video transmitter on it. How much weight can the Honey Bee lift?
4. The manual mentions a web site (www.esky-sz.com) but when I tried to acces it, I get an error. Have they gone out of business?
5. There is made mention of a LiPo battery but no part numbers, specs or price anywhere I can find.
6. I have only been able to try to take off with a few times because of the weather. Once I did manage to get it off the ground and it flew away from and at about 50' away I saw the light on the mixer go red and by that time it ran into a wall. I didn't have the antenna unwrapped from the skids (the manula didn't say too) so I am wondering what is the range of the transmitter?

Thanks for your help.
jocatch is offline Find More Posts by jocatch
to remove ads between posts