Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 12, 2006, 03:07 PM
Vampyre Inc
Rochester, New York
Joined Nov 2004
2,562 Posts
Discussion
Great Planes Siren Hotliner - Thermal?

Looking at the Great Planes Siren Hotliner, I was wonder if anyone has thermaled with this Hotliner

I am looking for a dual purpose model, one I can fly as a relaxing thermal glider and also use it as a Hotliner

I would be using a Brushless setup and Lipo in order to lower the overall weight.

Has anyone Thermaled this Hotliner, or could recommand a hotliner that thermals well

-thanks
HoverDown3K is offline Find More Posts by HoverDown3K
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 12, 2006, 04:58 PM
United States, TN, Columbia
Joined Mar 2006
736 Posts
I have been flying a Siren for a few months now. It has yet to catch a thermal in Georgia. It is a good entry level warmliner... it is a VERY good starting point to see what you like... then you can progress towards a ship that specializes in doing the type of flying you want to do.

If your looking for a dual purpose machine.. I would look into a Nike 2.

Hope this helps!
sdstick is offline Find More Posts by sdstick
Old Jun 12, 2006, 07:32 PM
Vampyre Inc
Rochester, New York
Joined Nov 2004
2,562 Posts
Thaks for the post, If I am going to spend over $200 what about this?
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/ion.htm

The ION from Hobby lobby
Old Jun 12, 2006, 07:54 PM
United States, FL, Melbourne Beach
Joined Dec 2003
430 Posts
At the field where I fly, there's three Sirens. I've never seen them indicate lift in a thermal. In fact, they don't seem to do anything very well. There's one Nike 2. It's very aerobatic, but not much at thermal either. I fly a Highlander . A little less expensive but a very nice plane. It's fast enough for me with a Axi 2808/20. It will thermal, but you've got to really work it. When the thermals start, I usually switch to my Gentle Lady. I don't think you're going to find a model that does both hot aerobatics and relaxing thermal.