SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 08, 2006, 03:18 PM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
Discussion
Experience with Towerpro 30A ESC's BEC System

Hey all,
I'm going to order a Formosa II, which requires 4 servos.
I'm using the Towerpro 30A ESC (with a 3s lipo). Has anyone used 4 servos with it's built-in BEC System? (on 3s lipo?)
It seems like it should be able to, but i'm not quite sure.
thanks
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Last edited by freedomflyer; Jun 08, 2006 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 08, 2006, 03:21 PM
Registered User
parkflyer36's Avatar
Boston, MA
Joined Mar 2006
27 Posts
Hi. I have aTowerPro gen2 30A. I have a plane I flew a couple of times with 4 servos and a 3s lipo. So far no problems.
-Theo
parkflyer36 is offline Find More Posts by parkflyer36
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2006, 03:25 PM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
Thanks for the info parkflyer36, anyone else?
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2006, 05:03 PM
Custom CNC machining
jrubenis's Avatar
Plymouth, UK
Joined May 2006
765 Posts
i use this esc with 4 servos, 2x hs-81mg and 2xhs55 not problems so far although i am using 8 cell nimh.
jrubenis is offline Find More Posts by jrubenis
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2006, 05:16 PM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
thx for the info jrubenis. Mostly I'm looking to see who's on 3s or above with this ESC, just to see the general concesus on what ppl are doing.
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2006, 11:01 PM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
OK New problem: I hooked up 4 servos, and I used them all at the same time (as in moved all the sticks at the same time) And they started jittering and freaking out, and the motor started jittering as well. Something's wrong neh? Is there a possibility this is my rx?
any help here would be *greatly* appreciated!
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2006, 06:50 AM
Registered User
parkflyer36's Avatar
Boston, MA
Joined Mar 2006
27 Posts
Hi. I'll have to say it was probably your rx. I took my plane with the four servos out yesterday and had no problem. It's a 3d plane so I use all of the servos at the same time at some point. Sometimes when I'm testing servos inside, I accidentally hit the transmitter antenna on a metal object, and I guess that causes interference because all of the servos go nuts. Maybe that happened. I don't know, just throwing ideas out there. Anyway, I hope you get it figured out.
-Theo
parkflyer36 is offline Find More Posts by parkflyer36
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2006, 10:55 AM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
Ya. Unfortunatley, I don't have another rx that has 6 channels, only 4 channels, and 3 servos do fine, but I have to test out 4 for the Formosa II. Guess I need to get another 6channel. I'll probably get a dual conversion for the formosa II becuase I'm putting up some pretty dang nice stuff in that puppy. 400 watts ! Maybe I'll try a diff ESC....
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2006, 11:44 AM
Accomplished RCNewb
freedomflyer's Avatar
Provo, Utah
Joined Nov 2004
788 Posts
Sorry for the double post, but I just tested the same rx and servos on a diff ESC, and they all worked, all at the same time! So I think i'll contact Jun @ XUSHOBBY and see if I can get a return, I've only used the thing twice on a small little BP21!!!
fflyer
freedomflyer is offline Find More Posts by freedomflyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Experience With Aveox L260 ESC? segal3 Power Systems 7 Oct 08, 2007 08:27 PM
Discussion Towerpro 30A ESC BEC Problem - why can't it just work!!?? hehe freedomflyer Electric Plane Talk 0 Jun 08, 2006 11:02 PM
Question TowerPro 30A esc...too much for my radio system? freedomflyer Power Systems 1 Feb 22, 2006 11:55 PM
ESC's BEC cut out RiBell Power Systems 20 Aug 10, 2003 07:33 PM
Twin engined model with two Rondo ESC's ChrisP Power Systems 7 Jul 18, 2001 11:24 AM