Old Jun 05, 2006, 08:50 AM
Bernoulli+Newton=Lift
Somewhere south of Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2006
1,952 Posts
Discussion
Does this plane look overbuilt? Some dumb plane-from-plans ?'s

Hi all -

I'm a relative newbie to R/C aircraft, but have made a few stick-built rubber powered planes in the past. I've taught myself to fly from a 54" foam glider I converted myself, and now have a Slow Stick that I'm flying inverted / pulling inside and outside loops / etc., and haven't even crashed the Slow Stick once yet (in four weeks of lots of flying).

So... I thought I'd take another step into this rather addictive hobby. In addition to actually flying, part of what I enjoy is actually building kits. So I found some biplane plans I liked online, and started building it this last weekend (so far I've only completed the fuselage). I do have some questions though, having never built a plane strictly from plans before.

- Does this plane look over-built? I reducted the size of the stringers on the fuselage to 3/16" instead of 1/4", since the 1/4" seemed to be more than was necessary for the size of plane this is. Was 1/4" the right size, or will the 3/16" be strong enough?

- Also, the wing seems to have a lot of extra wood in it - is all of that really necessary for sufficient strength? There's 2 main spars, 2 front spars, a trailing edge spar PLUS trailing edge sheeting... see file for wing detail.

- Although this was likely designed for a gas engine, I'd like to make it as an electric - any thoughts on what size motor / prop should I be use?

- Is 1/8" thick balsa necessary on BOTH sides of the stabilizer surfaces? That seems like too much wood weight, when the surfaces could be made lighter going full stick built, or even covered with 1/16" balsa - or is 1/16" too thin considering the strength requirements of the plane?

- And what do I use for landing gear, and where should it attach, and how?