HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 24, 2006, 04:09 PM
Encino, CA
Joined Apr 2006
109 Posts
Discussion
How come most bluecor/depron wings are built w/out an airfoil?

Greetings,

I'm new to the whole cad plans and self fabrication, I've just recently started to make a few from plans I've drawn up. I've noticed that most people use flat depron/bluecor wings with no airfoil. It can't all be about weight savings? Does a 2 piece wing with airfoil make much if any difference in bluecor/depron projects in reguards to in flight performance? I've also noted everyones about a flat fuselage too. Since its the norm what are the compelling reasons to build this way? Doesn't an airfoil help at all?
airdawg is offline Find More Posts by airdawg
to remove ads between posts
Old May 24, 2006, 05:18 PM
Obsessive Compulsive
Lake Worth, FL
Joined Feb 2005
99 Posts
The reasons for no airfoil is not to save weight, but it is way easier, and with an airplane so light if flies on flat wings fine.
CptanPanic is offline Find More Posts by CptanPanic
Old May 24, 2006, 09:22 PM
brennanj2
Australia
Joined Mar 2005
380 Posts
Airdawg,
You can always build with an airfoil, either single sided ie out of one peice of depron or cellfoam or double sided out of 2. You can also shape an airfoil out of blufoam. There are lots of threads explaining how to do this.

If the motor has enough power it will pull a flat bit of ply through the sky, we used to do that with control line flying in the old days. But for an aircraft to fly "correctly" you need an airfoil of some discription to generate the necessary lift to keep the model in the air and to counteract the forces of drag and gravity.

The idea of a flat fusulage is that it has the correct profile and from the side looks like the intended plane. It is quick, cheap and easy to build. Where this type if model "falls over" is when viewed from the front and or back. Then it looks like what it is a "profile model".