HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 10, 2001, 11:40 AM
Electriaddict
Melville Saskatchewan Canada
Joined Mar 2001
1,579 Posts
spinner or not

spinner or no spinner? I am in the process of building a new duct\fuse for my tutor should I eliminate the spinner on the rotor ?
dorysch1 is offline Find More Posts by dorysch1
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2001, 04:41 PM
EDF Head
Stavanger, Norway
Joined Feb 2000
7,999 Posts
Only if the spinner represent a problem for you. There must be some loss without it but to what extent isnt sure. Scott Black flies hit F86 without and it dont appear to miss it. I guess YMMV.

So its flying now - great!
-Haldor
Haldor is offline Find More Posts by Haldor
Old Sep 10, 2001, 04:43 PM
Use The Force Jim
Las Cruces, NM USA
Joined Jul 2001
2,340 Posts
I'm no expert on flow dynamics and I'm new to EDF, but from what I've read so far on this forum, everything that smooths airflow through the duct is very important.

Without the spinner, air will have to change direction very suddenly as it hits the hub face vs. flowing smoothly around the spinner into the fan blades.

I've learned that small things like this can take a huge toll on fan efficiency. Just my .02 worth, by all means get a second opinion....

Jim
Jim Walker is offline Find More Posts by Jim Walker
Old Sep 10, 2001, 05:12 PM
Electriaddict
Joined Mar 2001
1,579 Posts
I was thinking of making a tubular director inside the ducting to direct air away from the hub? or am I just wasting time and server space heheeheh
Old Sep 10, 2001, 08:43 PM
2014 EDF JET JAM We be Jamming
St. Louis Intl, Missouri, United States
Joined Jan 1997
6,728 Posts
I also fly without a spinner. You could balance it but it always seem to run smoother without it and at a little more RPMs so did I win or lose? It flys just as fast and makes less noise. I'm happy
Kevin Cox is offline Find More Posts by Kevin Cox
Old Sep 13, 2001, 06:56 PM
Scott Black, Montreal
montreal quebec Canada
Joined Sep 1999