SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 11, 2006, 10:07 AM
Joined Apr 2006
890 Posts
Discussion
How are Carbon Fiber Blades?

The wooden blades for me just don't hold up too long. I'm flying a little bit in the backyard (no wind), and if the blades knock on the grass, they don't last long at all. The Film starts to tear off, the wood gets chopped and then Blade Balance is an issue.

I'm new to flying Choppers, but getting the hang of it.

I ordered Carbon Fiber Esky Blades last night for durability/strenght and look. Not for inverted flight...Because I still need to learn how to fly, lol

But I'm excited.

Please post your opinions fellow Pilots.

-Jay
Pipercub18 is offline Find More Posts by Pipercub18
Last edited by Pipercub18; May 11, 2006 at 10:43 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 11, 2006, 10:54 AM
Joined May 2005
1,051 Posts
i would NOT use the CF blades until youre proficient at flying. Yes theyre are FAR more durable than woodies, but if the blades dont break the next weakest thing will - maingear, mainshaft, etc.
jh4db536 is offline Find More Posts by jh4db536
Old May 11, 2006, 11:50 AM
Joined Apr 2006
890 Posts
That is true.

I already have broken a Rotor Head Link on one more then one occassion.

The Carbon Fiber Blades are in the mail, but I guess I'll need to find more Wooden Blades.

I'm a little disappointed in that Ebay Doesn't have a mass amount of Low priced parts.

-Jay
Old May 11, 2006, 07:18 PM
Just call me crash.
Joined Jan 2006
1,308 Posts
'S okay pipercub, put them on the shelf until you are ready for them, that's where mine are. The worst thing I've read about these AND the "indestructible" plasti-blades is that in a hard boom strike, you will chop the boom right off, wires and all.

Check this out, what I'm doing is fixing them up and recovering them when they begin to show a little, ummm . . . usage. A roll of Ultracote, wife's iron, and a way of balancing them after refurb is all you need.

Quote: