HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 07, 2006, 06:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2005
284 Posts
Discussion
running 2 brushless motors on 1 speed control?

I have a mini twin speed wing and i installed 2 feiago brushless motors on a 20 amp brushless esc, however it will not run both motors, one will hardly spin and gets really really hot while the other runs normally.


i have ran double motors on brushed speed controls lots of times with no problems but never tried a brushless motor.


is this not possible? or what am i doing wrong?


thanks for any input
wakeboarder2342 is offline Find More Posts by wakeboarder2342
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2006, 06:46 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,756 Posts
Some combinations work, others don't.
You have found one of the non working ones
You could try a different ESC, or just install two of them.
Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2006, 10:46 PM
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Sep 2003
8,434 Posts
More often than not it does not work to have 2 motors on 1 esc.

Do NOT continue to try to run those motors that way. You will burn up the motor or esc if you continue.

Good luck!

Larry
Larry3215 is offline Find More Posts by Larry3215
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 06:58 AM
www.M-A-E.com
rcflyer11's Avatar
Lilburn, GA, USA
Joined Dec 2000
1,175 Posts
Well... here is a twin combo that does work well on a single ESC. Many flights with excellent results.

Randy
Model Airplane Engineering
rcflyer11 is offline Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 08:29 AM
Jaded Flyer
mcharles13's Avatar
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Aug 2004
2,025 Posts
what makes this combo work? it looks like they are just spliced together using servo wire.
mcharles13 is offline Find More Posts by mcharles13
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 01:47 PM
www.M-A-E.com
rcflyer11's Avatar
Lilburn, GA, USA
Joined Dec 2000
1,175 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcharles13
what makes this combo work? it looks like they are just spliced together using servo wire.
Exactly... no magic here. Dunno why they work, but they do

Randy
rcflyer11 is offline Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 03:01 PM
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Sep 2003
8,434 Posts
The motors the guys use at MAE are fairly hi quality and pretty well matched and run at much lower power levels and lower loads. All those things are plus factors in getting it to work.

Im not sure, but I seem to remember they test each setup before shipping?

In any case, brushed setups are a completely different animal.

Larry
Larry3215 is offline Find More Posts by Larry3215
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 04:36 PM
Registered User
jimsp's Avatar
Sayre,PA
Joined Sep 2002
1,664 Posts
When using two ESCís what do you do about the low voltage cutoff? Even if you set it the same on both ESC itís unlikely both would cutoff exactly at the same time. It seems that once one shuts down the battery voltage will jump and other may not shut down. Suddenly losing one motor on a twin can be a tricky situation to deal with.
jimsp is offline Find More Posts by jimsp
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 05:03 PM
Wind is the devil.
Argyle's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
1,030 Posts
I think with dual ESCs that both run from a single power source, and should cut off at the same time, or VERY close to the same time, assuming you have duplicate ESCs of same production run.
Argyle is offline Find More Posts by Argyle
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 06:28 PM
www.M-A-E.com
rcflyer11's Avatar
Lilburn, GA, USA
Joined Dec 2000
1,175 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry3215
Im not sure, but I seem to remember they test each setup before shipping?
Yes... Westport tests each prewired pair before shipping them to us.

Regarding the question about using 2 ESC's... I believe it's customary to disable the BEC on one of them.

Randy
Model Airplane Engineering
rcflyer11 is offline Find More Posts by rcflyer11
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2006, 06:33 PM
Registered User
vintage1's Avatar
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,703 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsp
When using two ESCís what do you do about the low voltage cutoff? Even if you set it the same on both ESC itís unlikely both would cutoff exactly at the same time. It seems that once one shuts down the battery voltage will jump and other may not shut down. Suddenly losing one motor on a twin can be a tricky situation to deal with.
Then don't fly the pack flat, or use something like a SMART BEC to drop power to both simultaneously.

Heck people have been flyimng slimers without a central tank and without an LVC for years - go over the time limit and pay the price...
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 2 Brushless Motors on 1 Controller FuryPilot Power Systems 29 Aug 22, 2004 09:14 AM
two brushless motors on one speed controller? Xnaron Power Systems 4 Jun 04, 2003 07:10 AM
2 rushless motors & one speed control Martinlb Scale Kit/Scratch Built 17 Oct 23, 2002 04:45 AM
2 brushless motors on one speedo? juantrinidad Foamies (Kits) 0 Jul 01, 2002 02:23 AM