HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 13, 2006, 01:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
2,231 Posts
Hey Paul,

I've tried to send you a PM, but somehow your account here does not accept them.

Anyways, here you go:

"Hi Paul,

My setup is:

E-Flite Park 300
Castle Creations TB-9
Thunder Power 480 2s
APC 8x3.8SF
Berg 4
3x Futaba S3110

In the near future I am replacing the Futabas with Dymond D47 servos and the motor with the new E-Flite Park 250.
Since you live in Europe, you may have easier access to really good and light motors. Like Strecker, Cyclon, Flyware.
Just think very light for indoor flying.

If you have more question, don't hesitate to ask them, my friend. The guys at the F3P forums are all nice and always willing to help. "
Malves is offline Find More Posts by Malves
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 14, 2006, 12:30 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
Here is some pics of my YAK 54.

Just wondering where is the best spot to place the servos? Anynoe? Anyone?
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2006, 08:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
2,231 Posts
Hmmm...that doesn't look like version 4. Is the fuselage 30" long?

Anyways, I usualy mount the aileron servo first, then, after I am completely done with the entire airframe, the motor, ESC, rx, and battery. Then I'll mount the rudder and elevator servos to get the CG where I like to start with - 2 3/4" to 3" from LE.
Malves is offline Find More Posts by Malves
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2006, 10:24 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
I'm not sure which version I ended up with, but here is the drawing I used. Is it a wrong one? It's about 30" long I think.

What's he difference between this version and version 4? Will mine fly?

Cheers

Tomas



Quote:
Originally Posted by Malves
Hmmm...that doesn't look like version 4. Is the fuselage 30" long?

Anyways, I usualy mount the aileron servo first, then, after I am completely done with the entire airframe, the motor, ESC, rx, and battery. Then I'll mount the rudder and elevator servos to get the CG where I like to start with - 2 3/4" to 3" from LE.
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Last edited by tomasjo; Oct 14, 2006 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2006, 10:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
2,231 Posts
That's version 2. Yes, it will fly.

Version 4 has more wing area, bigger rudder, fuse is 3" longer and has some modifications to the design. It has better momentum with the longer fuse, flies more precise and a lil lighter with the increased wing area, and it also has a lil more rudder authority.

In the first post, there's a link to version 4. I think Ima remove the others...just in case.

Could you please delete the one you just posted, too? Don't want ppl to get confused.
Malves is offline Find More Posts by Malves
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2006, 11:58 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
It's gone

Thanks

Tomas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malves
Could you please delete the one you just posted, too? Don't want ppl to get confused.
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2006, 06:36 PM
Plays with Toys
tim_mellor's Avatar
Port Fairy, Australia
Joined Jun 2005
1,972 Posts
Hi Tomas,

just checking did you use the tiled version I did or another of Malves full sized ones? I just checked the file I used and it did say v4.

Tim
tim_mellor is offline Find More Posts by tim_mellor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2006, 11:40 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
Hi Tim

No, sorry I did not use your excellent tiled versjon because I used a A3 printer and a friend of mine fixed this in PhotoShop.

Could you help me out with a A3 tiled PDF from version 4. Pretty please with suger on top

Thanx

Tomas

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_mellor
Hi Tomas,

just checking did you use the tiled version I did or another of Malves full sized ones? I just checked the file I used and it did say v4.

Tim
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2006, 05:28 PM
Plays with Toys
tim_mellor's Avatar
Port Fairy, Australia
Joined Jun 2005
1,972 Posts
Hi Tomas,

you owe me a beer Maybe you just didn't want to join up lots of little sheets

Happy flying

Tim
tim_mellor is offline Find More Posts by tim_mellor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2006, 12:41 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
No problem there Tim

Thank you very much for the A3 sheets. This will work great.
I'm just about done with my YAK ( version 1 ). Just have some linkage left and it's ready to go. I have used 6mm depron, and I think it looks quite stiff.

Once again, thank you for your help.

Tomas

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_mellor
Hi Tomas,

you owe me a beer Maybe you just didn't want to join up lots of little sheets

Happy flying

Tim
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2006, 07:46 AM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
Here is a pic from my first flight.
Great toy.
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2006, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
2,231 Posts
Nice, bro! Are you sure those wings are not flexing?
Malves is offline Find More Posts by Malves
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2006, 12:38 PM
Mr. Mullins
Joined Jul 2006
66 Posts
heheheh

They are flexing yes but I like it that way

No, just kidding. I use a 1200mAh 3S hyperion batteri so it's a little bit heavy
Going to put in one more carbon piece across the wing.

It actually flies great, even with this battery. What a great design And it's just version 1

Here are some more pics of the YAK.

Have a nice weekend



Quote:
Originally Posted by Malves
Nice, bro! Are you sure those wings are not flexing?
tomasjo is offline Find More Posts by tomasjo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2006, 01:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
2,231 Posts
LOL. Glad to know you like it. You should try v.4. Have fun, bro.
Malves is offline Find More Posts by Malves
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2006, 02:40 AM
Registered User
Peytr's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Sep 2004
304 Posts
@ Tim:

I just printed the tiled PDF (first version) and I didn't allow Adobe to shrink, but I'm not sure if I'm OK. I printed the plans on A4 paper and there are margins around the individual drawings. Could someone give me a few measurements for checking my printouts? (Exact span, fuselength, reinforcement strip sizes or something).

Might cut the margins and build 'my own version' anyway , but still, I'd like to check .

Thanks for sharing the project with us.

It's my first indoor 3D (well, first 3 D as well actually). Will it do well with a DIY CDbrushless? I do have a bunch of Bergs 4 and D47s lying around, no prob there. Only need to buy an ESC and Lipo's I guess.

Peytr
Peytr is online now Find More Posts by Peytr
Last edited by Peytr; Oct 29, 2006 at 03:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Anybody have any Yak 54 plans? bamm 3D Flying 33 Dec 09, 2012 06:40 AM
Sold NIB Ultra RC Yak 54 (.40 sized) sukhoi26mx Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Nov 05, 2005 08:34 PM
On the drawing board... Brian Courtice Slope 19 Jan 18, 2005 05:59 PM
GWS: Jets on the Drawing Board? Carter Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 0 Dec 16, 2002 10:07 AM