SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Malc C, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Dec 31, 2009, 12:06 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
If it works, then a cheap USB to serial adapter should do it for you.

http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-SERIAL-DB9-R...ht_2915wt_1056

http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-to-Serial-DB...#ht_2932wt_928
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2009, 04:04 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Adlam View Post
Thanks for the info.

Looks like I've got to get a new PIC programmer. My last one was a serial port one, and since upgrading the PC I now need a USB one! *sigh*.
It's Christmas - treat yourself

Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 04:28 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
Cool. Where, and how much?
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 05:31 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telemachus View Post
Cool. Where, and how much?
$139 - http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/easypic6/

I've got the previous model



$129, - main differences are SM components on the V6, COG display and keypad buttons, whereas V5 has 7-seg LED, and no dedicated key pad buttons, but has two AD pots

the touch screen is extra as are the 2 x 16 LCD.... but they aren't that expensive

There are also loads of plug on boards from $5 up so you can do basically anything you want...

Mikro also do compilers and a free (up to 2K code size) BASIC, which is fairly easy to work with - worth spending some time browsing the site
Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 05:42 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
Way cool.

I think my bread board was $17 and the programmer was $10... have served me well for about 4 years, but that would be a treat.
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Last edited by Telemachus; Dec 31, 2009 at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 09:55 AM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Hmmm... looks like the problem is more related to laptops USB ports. The interface doesn't get recognised on my Sony (Windows 7) or my friends Dell (XP).

Any more ideas from people regarding getting it running OK on laptops, or why it seems so finicky?

Update: Well it seems to be related to whether you have programmed 4-axis or 8-axis joystick. Maybe it's the USB speed that's the problem? Anyway, having re-programmed as a 4-axis joystick Windows 7 now recognises the interface! .

You are supposed to be able to calibrate USB Joysticks in Windows 7 - but I can't find an actual "Game Controller" tab in Device Manager (Windows 7 Home Premium). There is a HID-Game Controller one (now) - which doesn't allow any calibration, but it does still seem to work.

Just got to see if it remains reliable!
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Last edited by Norman Adlam; Jan 05, 2010 at 12:41 PM. Reason: Added update status.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 12:41 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
Norman, have you plugged it back in to your XP desktop machine to confirm that it's working OK. If so then I guess it's either down to windows power management software, or that on the two machines the current draw is taking the 5V supply down and the pic can't function.

Googled USB ports not functioning and came up with lots of hits:

Most seem to be in relation to hub management under XP though

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/817900
Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 12:44 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malc C View Post
Norman, have you plugged it back in to your XP desktop machine to confirm that it's working OK. If so then I guess it's either down to windows power management software, or that on the two machines the current draw is taking the 5V supply down and the pic can't function.

Googled USB ports not functioning and came up with lots of hits:

Most seem to be in relation to hub management under XP though

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/817900
Malc,

Yup - it had still been OK in XP - and I had also found the USB Power Management 'stuff' on the Net and tried that on the Lappy - but it made no difference.

Many thanks for looking for me, though! Much appreciated!
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 12:53 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
No worries,

The strange thing is I can't see that the interface would draw that much current that it causes the thing not to work. Do you have a meter so you can check the voltages that the PIC's receiving, on both the XP machine and your laptop. You might also want to check the current draw at the same time
Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 01:16 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
This has strictly got to be a Windows 7 thing, perhaps there is not a proper driver installed for Hi-Speed (USB 2.0) drivers. The main difference between the 4 axis and 8 axis version is that the 8 axis is only made for hi-speed USB.

Since you know the USB port itself is capable of doing hi speeds, it must be a driver issue within Windows.

Did you try it on a Windows 7 desktop?
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 01:22 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telemachus View Post
This has strictly got to be a Windows 7 thing,

Don't think so...

Quote:
The interface doesn't get recognised on my Sony (Windows 7) or my friends Dell (XP).
Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 01:23 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malc C View Post
No worries,

The strange thing is I can't see that the interface would draw that much current that it causes the thing not to work. Do you have a meter so you can check the voltages that the PIC's receiving, on both the XP machine and your laptop. You might also want to check the current draw at the same time
Don't think it had anything to do with current draw etc - as reprogramming it as a 4-axis joystick got it recognised and working OK. If I get more trouble with it I may well measure such things.

BTW - it worked fine on my friends Compaq Laptop running Vista. More indication that it's software, I think.
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 01:36 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
Awww... I read that wrong. I thought that you were saying that both you and your friend's laptop have Windows 7 and it wasn't working on them.

Did you use the PCB to build it, or did you direct solder your own connections? Perhaps there is a short somewhere?

You were saying that it doesn't show up AT ALL in windows, or does it say "devise unrecognized"?
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 02:02 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telemachus View Post
Awww... I read that wrong. I thought that you were saying that both you and your friend's laptop have Windows 7 and it wasn't working on them.

Did you use the PCB to build it, or did you direct solder your own connections? Perhaps there is a short somewhere?

You were saying that it doesn't show up AT ALL in windows, or does it say "devise unrecognized"?
All nicely laid out, proper manufacture PCB etc - and has worked fine for ages (on my XP desktop).

Yeah - it didn't show up at ALL - never got as far as "device unrecognised".
Norman Adlam is online now Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 02:41 PM
Heli Humbled Daily
Riverside, CA
Joined Jul 2006
2,973 Posts
do u need 8 axis?
Telemachus is offline Find More Posts by Telemachus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question JW24RC - Model RC to USB joystick converter chip skratchbilder Radios 0 Dec 16, 2004 08:43 PM
Quattro USB adapter: RC, Analog Joystick -> USB PiNa Simulators 2 Sep 22, 2004 02:09 PM
Radio Shack USB joystick adapter. HankF Simulators 0 Jul 23, 2003 02:46 PM