SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 21, 2006, 09:08 AM
USA, FL, Orlando
Joined May 2003
7,977 Posts
Discussion
BEC 4s1p made from 2 cell packs

Everyone:

I have a question regarding using BEC on a 4s1p made from 2 cell packs. I purchased 4 two cell packs with the intention of making 2 4s1p packs. I later found out I needed to use a BEC so as to not burn out the receiver because of the higher voltage. Question is, which BEC would you guys recommend, where can I get it and do they all work basically the same? I'm planning on using this in my larger planes, I have a electric telemaster with 6' wingspan and I am using an axi 2826-12 with an apc sf 13" x 6.5 pitch prop. I don't have access to moto calc. Thanks for your help in advance.

Henry
taekwondo is offline Find More Posts by taekwondo
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2006, 09:10 AM
USA, FL, Orlando
Joined May 2003
7,977 Posts
Sorry, I forgot to mention. Obviously, I will be wiring them in series.
Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:35 AM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,812 Posts
Series / parallel

http://www.commonsenserc.com/page.ph...l_diagram.html

UBEC

http://www.rcmodelworks.com/xcart/pr...t=0&bestseller

BECs

http://www.rcgroups.com/pages/splist/link.php?s=527

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:41 AM
orlando fl
Joined Oct 2000
5,713 Posts
Ubec and Parkbec are a couple. Ubec is made by Koolflight, and the parkbec is dimension engineering.

One thing to watch out for is the chance for interference from the switching BEC, just be sure a do a very good range check, if if fails you can try rearanging the wireing and placement of the BEC.

BTW your Rx will not burn out, but the BEC built into the ESC can.

Besure to disable the built in BEC before using an external power source.
dave morris is offline Find More Posts by dave morris
Old Apr 21, 2006, 10:42 AM
orlando fl
Joined Oct 2000
5,713 Posts