Old Apr 19, 2006, 06:33 AM
Next time I'll ARTF...
Canberra, Australia (Southside)
Joined Feb 2004
4,634 Posts
Build Log
Scratch built own design foamie... "Whiplash"

Hi all,

As promised in the 40 for 40 discussion here are some photos of my 'closure' project. After smashing a hydrofoam and needing a new home for a bm2408-21 I started cutting foam to form what the photos below show.

Probably way too heavy for hovering etc, but I am having fun and look forward to finding out if I can come up with a successful design.

Go easy on the criticism - I've never built a 3D before.

glydr
glydr is offline Find More Posts by glydr
Last edited by glydr; Apr 22, 2006 at 04:25 PM. Reason: It has a name now... inspired by the stickers from my son's toy plane :)
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 19, 2006, 06:35 AM
Next time I'll ARTF...
Joined Feb 2004
4,634 Posts
Wings are hot wire cut polystyrene and the rest is 6mm depron from an art store.
Old Apr 19, 2006, 10:29 AM
electric convert
Jane Brook, Western Australia
Joined Oct 2005
387 Posts
cool, looks pretty good.

interested to see how it performs.

Cheers Joel
joel231 is offline Find More Posts by joel231
Old Apr 19, 2006, 05:20 PM
Next time I'll ARTF...
Joined Feb 2004
4,634 Posts
Consider this an extra slow build thread with scant details and you won't be dissappointed!

I cut the tailplane last night which completes the 'parts' that I need.

All that's left to do is cut/velcro equipment locations, install control rods and glue together. I've been using PVA for foam to foam (e.g. reinforcement at wing saddle) and plan to use epoxy for the wing as it is covered in tape. I wanted to use more yellow on the wing except I misplaced the roll after hinging the ailerons.
Old Apr 19, 2006, 05:34 PM
Model Bender
Australia, NSW, Newcastle
Joined Jun 2004
2,870 Posts
Looks ok.. I used to make lots of those flat depron foamies a while ago. Destroyed 'em faster than I could make 'em!