HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by nakman8, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Apr 16, 2006, 03:12 PM
"OLD CHEAPSKATE" FOR SURE
nakman8's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
338 Posts
Trader Rating: 19
Wanted
Brushed power system for 100" glider

Looking to "electrify" my old 100" Olympic glider.
Plenty of room inside. Did trial CG test and it look feasable. Have generic 600 size brushed motor that I can use or will consider others. Hoping to go DD but will consider gear driven setup. Need 20-25 amp ESC also. Not sure what prop I need. Suggestions?

LMK what ya might have to get me started.
nakman8 is offline Find More Posts by nakman8
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 16, 2006, 03:21 PM
Registered User
smurf's Avatar
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Trader Rating: 122
I have a kyosho NIB endoplasma and a GD 600 gearbox I'll let go for say $40. I don't know what the gear ratio is right now( am at work) but can let you know.
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Apr 16, 2006, 05:45 PM
Registered User
kf4mot's Avatar
Panama City, Florida
Joined Jul 2003
289 Posts
Trader Rating: 10
I have one of these.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXZ904&P=7

It's not nib but it's never been used.
kf4mot is offline Find More Posts by kf4mot
Old Apr 16, 2006, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Nashville, TN
Joined May 2002
280 Posts
Trader Rating: 13
I have a direct drive speed 600 powering a 78" sailplane and it is barely adequate. I would say that, even geared, a speed 600 would not be good on a 100" sailplane.
1g1yy is offline Find More Posts by 1g1yy
Old Apr 16, 2006, 09:08 PM
Registered User
smurf's Avatar
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Trader Rating: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1g1yy
I have a direct drive speed 600 powering a 78" sailplane and it is barely adequate. I would say that, even geared, a speed 600 would not be good on a 100" sailplane.
Put that speed 600 on one of these and I think you will be surprised.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXSL79&P=ML
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Apr 17, 2006, 09:30 AM
Registered User
Wings Level's Avatar
USA, NC, Garner
Joined Jun 2003
19 Posts
Trader Rating: 29
hi,

I have a Mega S4 and a S6. These are big, brushed motors. They have 5mm shafts, and will easily haul a 100" sailplane up on direct drive using a 12" folding prop.

Either one shipped to you for $50.

I can make a reccomendatio0n about your battery/prop/motor selection if you give me a little more info about your plane.

PM me if you are interested.
Wings Level is offline Find More Posts by Wings Level
Old Apr 17, 2006, 11:00 AM
Registered User
Nashville, TN
Joined May 2002
280 Posts
Trader Rating: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurf
Put that speed 600 on one of these and I think you will be surprised.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXSL79&P=ML

Well that would certainly make a difference -- but there is not enough room on the nose of my sailplane, nor on the nose of the 100" sailplane I also have.
1g1yy is offline Find More Posts by 1g1yy
Old Apr 17, 2006, 12:25 PM
Registered User
smurf's Avatar
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Trader Rating: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1g1yy
Well that would certainly make a difference -- but there is not enough room on the nose of my sailplane, nor on the nose of the 100" sailplane I also have.

nakman8 says he has plenty of room according to the first post above.

If you don't have the room, I would recomend a planetary gearbox.
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Apr 17, 2006, 12:28 PM
"OLD CHEAPSKATE" FOR SURE
nakman8's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
338 Posts
Trader Rating: 19
more info on Olympic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wings Level
hi,

I have a Mega S4 and a S6. These are big, brushed motors. They have 5mm shafts, and will easily haul a 100" sailplane up on direct drive using a 12" folding prop.

Either one shipped to you for $50.

I can make a reccomendatio0n about your battery/prop/motor selection if you give me a little more info about your plane.

PM me if you are interested.
100" Olympic.Classic highstart glider from about 25 years ago. Don't remember who offered the kit. AUW would be around 50ozs. Super efficient airfoil. Plenty of room for batteries right under wing. Hope this helps.


Dennis
nakman8 is offline Find More Posts by nakman8
Last edited by nakman8; Apr 17, 2006 at 01:40 PM.
Old Apr 17, 2006, 02:03 PM
"OLD CHEAPSKATE" FOR SURE
nakman8's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
338 Posts
Trader Rating: 19
gear box??

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurf
nakman8 says he has plenty of room according to the first post above.

If you don't have the room, I would recomend a planetary gearbox.
Speaking of GBs. Do you have to keep the prop shaft on the centeline of the fuselage,or can it be above the centerline. In other words,can I mount the motor on a planetary system inside the fuselage and the GB above the motor? Just a thought that came to mind with all the different GB configurations being offered.
nakman8 is offline Find More Posts by nakman8
Old Apr 17, 2006, 04:55 PM
Registered User
smurf's Avatar
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Trader Rating: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakman8
Speaking of GBs. Do you have to keep the prop shaft on the centeline of the fuselage,or can it be above the centerline. In other words,can I mount the motor on a planetary system inside the fuselage and the GB above the motor? Just a thought that came to mind with all the different GB configurations being offered.

A planetary system will be straight in line with the motor, no offset.
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Apr 17, 2006, 05:11 PM
"OLD CHEAPSKATE" FOR SURE
nakman8's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
338 Posts
Trader Rating: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurf
A planetary system will be straight in line with the motor, no offset.
I understand that. I have one in another glider.
With the GB you are offering do I need to modify the fuselege to keep the prop shaft on the centerline of the fuselege and not above it. Does it matter?
Haven't mounted a offset GB before.
nakman8 is offline Find More Posts by nakman8
Last edited by nakman8; Apr 17, 2006 at 05:25 PM.
Old Apr 17, 2006, 05:50 PM
Registered User
smurf's Avatar
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Trader Rating: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakman8
I understand that. I have one in another glider.
With the GB you are offering do I need to modify the fuselege to keep the prop shaft on the centerline of the fuselege and not above it. Does it matter?
Haven't mounted a offset GB before.

I think it should be close to center but I'm not quite sure.

I just measure from centerline of prop shaft to the bottom of the motor is 1 1/4"

pm sent about pictures
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Brushed power options for Easy Glider Electric merlinmurph Electric Sailplanes 29 Aug 22, 2006 02:40 PM
Basics of picking a power system for an e-glider? JoeR Electric Sailplanes 4 Feb 21, 2004 08:16 AM
brushed power system for a 40sized profile lagcisco Sport Planes 7 Oct 01, 2003 04:31 AM
WTB or Trade - 'Up n Go' Power System for High Sierra glider. Googleplex Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Apr 21, 2002 08:57 PM