SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 12, 2006, 12:41 PM
PropBuster
Joined May 2005
62 Posts
Discussion
Upgrading to new electric specifically for AP

Okay,

I am a newbie, but I am fired up about AP. I have been learning to fly on a SlowStick, but I want to upgrade to a plane with a bit more lift and carrying capacity for AP. I was flying with the basic 300 series motor. Can anyone make a suggestion about the type of plane. I am also in the market for at least of 4.0 MP camera so I am shopping for that as well. I used the search feature, but did not come up with anything.

Thank you for your help.

PropBuster
jasonkrupert is offline Find More Posts by jasonkrupert
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 12, 2006, 01:24 PM
Dingwall, Ross-shire, Scotland
Joined Nov 2000
243 Posts
Propbuster,

I am using an Easystar with a small brushless motor from a shockie. My camera is a Nikon Coolpix 7900. 27ozs AUW and flies for 12 - 15mins on a 3S1P 1000mAh Lipo. Loads of advice from this forum but it's like this hobby as a whole, how much money are you willing to throw at it. I've seen brilliant results from 1.3Mp cameras and poor results from 8Mp cameras.

Good Luck

Steve
Sierra Golf Mike is offline Find More Posts by Sierra Golf Mike
Old Apr 12, 2006, 02:08 PM
Smile & wave
Lancing West Sussex
Joined Jun 2005
3,440 Posts
PropBuster,

As Steve says the Easy Star is becoming a good and versatile camera plane and seems to handle all sorts of configurations.
To start with and get good printable AP results I would recommend a 5Mp but it depends on your budget.

Anyway to look on the bright side, if you get an EZ* you shouldn’t bust anymore props.

Gray
Gray is offline Find More Posts by Gray
Old Apr 12, 2006, 02:28 PM
Studies the wind
United States, CA, Yountville
Joined Nov 2004
1,524 Posts
If it works, don't fix it!