SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 11, 2006, 07:15 AM
east yorks
Joined Oct 2005
54 Posts
Discussion
solarfilm covering

hi, im pretty new to this hobby and have built a extra 300s by great planes, im at the stage were the plane needs to be covered, ive bought the solarfilm and a travel iron, the guy in the model shop tried to explain the proccess for covering the plane but to be honest i was in a rush and a bit stressed out and didnt seem to take any of the important stuff in, as you do!, i have a few questions before i start, (1) i have no prymol, is there a substitute what i could use?, (2) how much does this solarfilm shrink? a lot or a little, any advice would be a great help

thanks

bill
blueswarf is offline Find More Posts by blueswarf
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 11, 2006, 08:41 AM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,513 Posts
Prymol -- what's that? I've used Solarfilm for most of my models over the past 15 years, and have never used Prymol. If it's something to improve adhesion, I normally use Balsaloc if I really need it (like on balsa that's had fuel on it). But normally I use nothing.

I believe there's a sticky about covering at the head of one of these forums. But the best advice I can give you is to try it on a spare bit of material and balsa first. I use a travel iron, rather than a dedicated covering iron, and find that it has to be on quite a low setting -- but you'll only learn that by trial-and-error. If I remember right, there's tips about what heat to use on the Solarfilm web site.