HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 07, 2006, 03:12 PM
Joined Apr 2006
923 Posts
Discussion
Spektrum DX-6's receiver, failsafe, and robot receiver option

OK, relative newbie here, so this may be a dumb question or already covered.

The DX-6's standard airbourne receiver (AR6000) has a failsafe mode that puts only the throttle into a programmable setting and keeps all other channels at their last commanded positions. This is good, but has some potential drawbacks.

Spektrum also markets another receiver that is identical in every way, except it allows you to program the failsafe settings for ALL channels. It is the same price and can be purchased in a bundle with a TX at the same price. Model number is BR6000 and it is marketed to RC combat robot users. The added failsafe programmability is needed to shut down robot weapon systems. Range should be the same because it is just a firmware change on the AR6000 hardware as I understand it.

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...odID=SPM6000BR

It seems to me that having a programmable setting for failsafe on ALL channels is a big advantage for aviation because it would eliminate the problem, for example, that the aileron channel was off center at the moment the signal was lost and therefore that the airplane would quickly enter a spiral dive. It would also give you a chance to program a circling pattern or maybe even do something like drop flaps to reduce crash impact speed.

So wouldn't this robot receiver be the hands-down better choice for rc aviation? Are people using them? Why wouldn't the AR6000 be made this way?
Barry2 is offline Find More Posts by Barry2
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 07, 2006, 10:34 PM
southbay ca
Joined Nov 2005
126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry2