HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 03, 2002, 08:38 AM
karma...its not all good
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jun 2002
534 Posts
Sailplanes at the beach?

I have a Pheonix Cermark 2M sailplane and a Norvell Glassaire 400 2M sailplane. I am new to RC planes and have only flown the sailplanes a few times.I was headed to the beach for a week and wondered if people flew sailplanes at the beach. I have always flown in a field and would love to fly over the ocean/sand (risks of course). The concern I have is with the wind. The wind at the beach is quite strong and consistent. What max wind speeds are reasonable to fly in? Do people fly at the beach? Would something other then a Sailplane be better for flying at the beach (wrong forum for that question ). Your comments would be appreciated.

_ XT
xterra is offline Find More Posts by xterra
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 03, 2002, 09:05 AM
Old Guy
Carver, MA USA
Joined Jun 2000
553 Posts
Big problem if the beach is in use by the general public. I usually figure they have the "right of way" during beach season. Last thing I need to do is be involved in an accident with my plane and a person.

The other 9 months the beach is fair game. If you have the wind look for a slope and fly 'til the wind stops. If no major prevailing then look for lift from the water/land temperature differential. Just look for smooth sand on a landing. Planes slide well on sand and an imbedded rock will do signifigant damage.

Ron
Ron Cichowski is offline Find More Posts by Ron Cichowski
Old Jul 03, 2002, 04:09 PM
Stockton, Ca. USA
Joined Apr 2001
9,253 Posts
Dear XT: