SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 27, 2006, 04:55 PM
Glassman
Leesburg, VA
Joined Aug 2004
517 Posts
Discussion
Need help with first RC Truck Choice

I am ready to buy my first RC truck. Due to noise, it must be electric.

I was thinking of an e-maxx.

Is there something better out there for around the same money? I am a rank newbie, and don't know the pros/cons of each model, so all advice would be welcome. I am concerned about durability, repairability and speed (in that order). I don't want something that I am going to outgrow in a month, so it needs to be upgradeable, but I also want something that will give good performance out of the box (so I don't have to spend a lot of money "upgrading" it before it is fun).

Help!
TerryE is offline Find More Posts by TerryE
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 27, 2006, 05:09 PM
Quark Technician
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Joined Nov 2005
22 Posts
I would go with an Associated RC10T4 kit, or RTR. A quality truck, parts are very easily available at 99% or local hobby shops. If you want to eventually race, it is pretty much race ready. Also, because it isn't huge like the E-Maxx, only one motor and one battery are required, so if you bought like 4 extra batterys, you could run 4 times, not just 2. I am a racer though, so my opinion might be slightly biased.
Frank@Quark is offline Find More Posts by Frank@Quark
Old Mar 27, 2006, 05:19 PM
United States
Joined Dec 2004
1,896 Posts
why not get a traxxas stampede or something? unless u plan to race...
TueLe is offline Find More Posts by TueLe
Old Mar 27, 2006, 05:40 PM
Quark Technician
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Joined Nov 2005
22 Posts
Parts quality, and availability. Most hobby shops don't car loads of Traxxas parts, so sometimes you might have to wait a week to fix a broken car. If you really want to drive it, or have a child that does, it could make for a long week...
Frank@Quark is offline Find More Posts by Frank@Quark
Old Mar 27, 2006, 06:14 PM