HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 10, 2006, 08:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2006
59 Posts
that link dont work for me Mo ..here is whats left of mine. other than a loose servo and a lil tear from the prop it still flew fine.
stufine is offline Find More Posts by stufine
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 10, 2006, 09:30 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
Not bad mohillbilly. Loved the landing
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2006, 09:51 PM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Yea am used to my alley cat that just flats in and I figured it would float along a bit more. Oh well thats why I put the skid on the bottom! I also found out that I forgot to glue the control horns! So it was a good thing! I also cut out a spot for the battery now it sits in about 2/3 of the way so should have better airflow.

Mo.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2006, 11:23 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
One of these days I'll take a picture of mine..with all the components laid on top of the wing. Well I do have the battery buried in the wing.

Ok here are a couple of pictures. I'll bury the wires for sure this weekend ....hopefully.
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 12:01 AM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Thats a pretty big prop or are you running off of 2 cells? How many turns ect on your motor?

Mo.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 12:34 AM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
The prop is an APC 6x4 running 3s Vampower 1050's or Electric Power 3s 1300 if it's windy. Motor is a Strongrc kit 12 turns 24 gauge 12 5x5x1 mags. Have ran this motor with a APC 6x5.5 also. Never thought to try 2s lip[os on it
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 12:40 PM
Registered User
scottflight's Avatar
Arvada, CO
Joined Aug 2004
366 Posts
Bass, what kind of amps are you pulling with the 12 turn and 6x4 on 3 cells?
scottflight is offline Find More Posts by scottflight
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 02:10 PM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass3587
The prop is an APC 6x4 running 3s Vampower 1050's or Electric Power 3s 1300 if it's windy. Motor is a Strongrc kit 12 turns 24 gauge 12 5x5x1 mags. Have ran this motor with a APC 6x5.5 also. Never thought to try 2s lip[os on it
Mine is the same but with 18T I can run the 6X4 on 3 or 2 cells and it flys fine on both. I get about 6.5A on 3 cells.

Mo.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2006, 04:52 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
I'm pulling about 9 amps on the 6x4, on the 6x5.5 I'm pulling close to 12 amps. This motor still surprises me as I thought single stator motors should be limited to 50-60 watts. I have another motor wound 10 turns of 23 gauge and it will pull some amps close to 14-15 on a 5x4.3 prop....scary. .....well to me it is
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 01:46 PM
Registered User
scottflight's Avatar
Arvada, CO
Joined Aug 2004
366 Posts
Yeah, I've been really impressed with these little cdr motors, for the right application, they are amazing. Mine is pulling like 6 amps for my set up. Long enough flight times to suit my attention span.

If anyone out there hasn't tried one, if you got the bucks, they are really good for this application.
scottflight is offline Find More Posts by scottflight
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 06:52 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
Wow just had a scary flight. Was out flying at the field having myself a good ole time with the wing. Decided to take it real high and see if I could catch a thermal (it's a little warm today) when OUCH!! A ant bit me on my arm and you know I slapped it off my arm, but that meant I had to take my eye off my wing for a second. Well when I looked back up my wing was nowhere to be seen. PANIC. Since it was up high I couldn't hear it anymore so I fed a little up and left with the controls and lo and behold the while it was turning the sun hit one of the wings. Whew, I mean I lost it for a good 5 seconds! Only thing was going through my head was it's going to crash and hit someone in the head. I have some holographic tape I'm going to put on it so I can keep track of it. Glad to get it back down safely.
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 09:03 PM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Yea got to watch that, I have a 2M glider that I fly around with a zlog altimeter in it. The second flight I must have lost site of it 3 or 4 times. I had to fight it back down for over 15mins! At one point I had to get my 2 flying Buddy's to land and help me look for it! It was about 3 o clock when I lost site and it was @ 8 when my buddy spotted it. After all was said an done the altimeter recorded a little over 1700' I also have a on board video of my SS @ 1500'+

Mo.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 09:09 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
1700 feet!! You have to have some good eyes for that altitude. How can you keep track of something that high up? I know you said it's a 2 meter glider but man that had to be tuff
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 04:54 PM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Yea like I said I lost it a few time, you can't look away for a sec! Put 6 packs though my wing today, did my first inverts with it and some nice full power climbs then shut down and flip around, get about 10 rolls before you have to pull up LOL. Pretty good fun.

Mo.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 06:51 PM
Registered User
bass3587's Avatar
Arlington,Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,239 Posts
I don't know what I did right this time but out of all the wings I've built this one just works! Usually when I'm flying inverted it takes a lot of down elevator to keep the nose up, even with the cg set right. With this wing just a hint of down elevator and she is flying great inverted.
bass3587 is offline Find More Posts by bass3587
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QueenBee: 100" EPP wing build & fly thread Pjotrrr Foamies (Kits) 186 Jul 29, 2012 03:21 AM
Bluecor "Arado Projekt" Build Thread jimsky Foamies (Kits) 82 Sep 12, 2009 08:43 PM
ST Model Wing build thread scotta Flying Wings 20 Nov 14, 2005 05:01 PM
"Thunder" experimental wing build thread Ryan Archer Flying Wings 8 Jan 22, 2005 04:06 PM
Overlord Build Thread - My first wing. Bernoulli~Bros Flying Wings 79 Aug 15, 2004 05:50 PM