HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2006, 12:50 PM
Dumb Thumbs
Kirkland WA
Joined Jul 2005
446 Posts
Build Log
Sig Somethin' Extra EP conversion

OK so i'm about to recieve like the title says a sig somethin' extra kit not the arf and im planning on converting it to ep. This will be the spot for my build thread once i start.

I should start by saying that while i am not new to electric planes i am new to glow to EP conversions and electric planes this size. So please bare with my ingorance. i have checked out grramps SE conversion which was loaded with great info.

So for the build i am planning on lightening the plane up as much as i can, replacing most the ply with balsa excpet firewall area. I am hoping to get the plane's AUW 55oz area.

So now I have a few questions to start off with. I found grramps SE conversion which was loaded with great info., i didn't find the exact info i was looking for. I currently have a pjs 3d1900 that is rated for planes up to well 1900 grams which is just over 4 pounds. Im not looking for screaming 3d prop hanging performance so what is your all's opinion will this motor be enough to fly the plane while performing realitivly easy acrobatics(rols, loops, KE). this motor i believe is rated for a 3s pack.

I also have 2 apogee 3s HD1500 mah packs and two electric power 12c 3s 2200mah packs that i could wire either in series or parallel.

I would like to use as much of my current electrics that i have, however if either my motor or batts wont work i am willing to buy up, but only as a last resort. I was looking at a axi 2826/10 motor which i know will fly the plane based on grramps post, but like i said i would like to try and stick with what i have if at all possible.

So Thanks for taking a look at my thread, And for taking the time to help with my conversion.

-Derek
d-bledsoe is offline Find More Posts by d-bledsoe
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2006, 03:50 PM
Dumb Thumbs
Kirkland WA
Joined Jul 2005
446 Posts