SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio

Horizon Hobby's E-Flite Brand Cessna 182 ARF Review

Rich Noon explores this great looking little scale ARF! Rich finds it not only great looking, but great flying as well, and a superb 2nd aircraft.

Splash

Forward

Wingspan:38 in (965mm)
Wing Area:215 sq in (14 sq dm)
Weight:15.5 - 17 oz (440 - 480 g)
Length:30 in (760mm)
Servos:E-Flite 7.5 Gram Sub-Micro S75 Servos
Transmitter:JR XP9303
Receiver:JR R770 7 Channel PCM
Battery:Thunder Power 1320mAh 3-Cell 11.1V LIPO, 16GA
Motor:E-FLITE Park 370 Brushless Inrunner Motor, 4100Kv
ESC:E-FLITE 20-Amp Brushless ESC (V2) [EFLA311B]
Manufacturer:E-Flite
Available From:Horizon Hobby

First of all let me state I consider myself a total beginner at electric flight. Oh, I'd built a few electric planes years ago when the batteries, speed control and motor combinations weighed three pounds less than a new Buick. They flew (sort of), but I quickly gave up on electric flight and went back to glow. I kept up with the magazines and great strides being made in electric flight through the years. But the cost factor compared to the gallon of glow fuel and cheap glow engines always kept me away from trying it again. I kept thinking "someday". Well someday has finally come with the E-Flite Cessna 182!

Introduction

It's not often you find a 4-channel, modern-era general aviation subject in the world of park flyers, let alone an officially licensed one that looks this good. And, believe it or not, two hours is about all it takes to get it flying. All the “heavy lifting” has been done for you from pushrod and control horn installation to painting the cowl and wheel pants—you basically just drop in your motor and electronics and fly.

Kit Contents

Items needed to complete:

• Brushless Motor
  • 20A Brushless ESC
  • 4+ Ch Radio
  • 4 Sub-micro Servos
  • 6" Servo Extension & Y-harness
  • 4-6 Ch Receiver
  • Li-Po Battery
  • Li-Po Charger
  • Foam Compatible CA

Components used: