HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 09, 2006, 04:24 AM
Registered User
CrashingDutchman's Avatar
The Netherlands, Utrecht, Amersfoort
Joined Oct 2004
2,187 Posts
Question
4 strands of 28 awg equals to 1 strand of ?? awg

Like the title says, what wire gauge do I need to use to use 1 strand instead of 4 strands of 28 AWG wire.

Same question for 29AWG wire.

I also would like to know advantages of using 1 or 4 wires. What is better?

Thanks

CD
CrashingDutchman is offline Find More Posts by CrashingDutchman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 09, 2006, 05:04 AM
Electric Hippy
Brisbane
Joined Nov 2005
2,358 Posts
Assuming 28awg =0.3mm

4x0.3mm =1.1304mm^2

0.63mm I assume is 22awg = 1.24mm^2

So 22awg is what you would use.

Personally I have found it a LOT easier to wind 2strands of 26awg. that gives 1.0mm^2



These are rough estemates as I dont have wire gauge tables or a calculator.
Eagleburger is offline Find More Posts by Eagleburger
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 05:42 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
near Nijmegen, Netherlands
Joined Feb 2001
10,180 Posts
Tables:
www.powerditto.de
-> "English"
search for 'wire' on that page.

Will you be attending http://home.hetnet.nl/~ronvans/ , June 25?

Vriendelijke groeten Ron van Sommeren
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 06:26 AM
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Cranbourne East
Joined Apr 2004
10,369 Posts
This may help
olmod is online now Find More Posts by olmod
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 07:40 AM
Registered User
Beaverdam Creek, VA
Joined Aug 2005
2,322 Posts
A rough rule of thumb is doubling the strand is about like going down 3 guages. Double 28g would be like 25g, quadruple like 22g. With the 29g, 4 strands would be about like 23g.

Single vs. multi-strand is a discussion (arguement at times) that comes up now and then. Multi-strand can be easier to wind or not, depending on the # and sizes. I've never done more than 2 myself. It will make sharper bends and bulge less in the front where you need can clearance. If the strands come out different lengths (hard to avoid) you can have small circulating currents that rob a bit of efficiency. With many layers the wire in the bottom layers gets no air flow. Smaller wire giving better copper fill is a myth.

Good Luck!
BeavrdamElectric is offline Find More Posts by BeavrdamElectric
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 11:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2004
734 Posts
I smell Troll .

Everything that Beaver said is right except the part about multistrand winds giving better copper fill is a myth. In certain situations you can get more copper intoa given area with multiple strands of of a smaller gauge wire than you could with a single large strand. By way of example I recently finished a motor that used the stator from a hard drive which I wound with 6t of double stranded 23g wire (about equivalent to 20g). In this case given the number of turns I required and the dimensions of the space between the stator teeth I was able to get more copper between the teeth than I could have with a single strand of 20g because 6t of a single strand of 20g would not fit due to the fact that it would have been too tall for the space between the stator arms, which was the limiting factor. I think I'm rambling now. The point is that for whatever stator you are winding you must consider several factors in order to come up with the best result and those trails don't slways lead to a single strand wind.

Latrans
latrans is offline Find More Posts by latrans
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 12:21 PM
Registered User
Beaverdam Creek, VA
Joined Aug 2005
2,322 Posts
It's true that it all depends on the dimensions of the wire and the slots, but Ralph (Powerditto) has me convinced that single strand can almost always do better. Some people tout that smaller wire always gives better copper fill, but it just isn't true.

Good Luck!
BeavrdamElectric is offline Find More Posts by BeavrdamElectric
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 01:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2004
734 Posts
Exactly right. The method that will give the best copper fill depends on the dimensions of the stator slot and the # of turns required. My only point was that the 'single strand is better' philosohpy doesn't always apply, that being said, if all things are equal I'd opt for the single strand over multiple strands.

Latrans
latrans is offline Find More Posts by latrans
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 01:33 PM
Seeing the Farside.
Blaze.45's Avatar
Seattle WA, USA
Joined Aug 2005
4,285 Posts
A single larger diameter strand will give better cooling capability too right?

Just a question, I'm kinda new to winding motors.

-Chris
Blaze.45 is offline Find More Posts by Blaze.45
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2004
734 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaze.45
A single larger diameter strand will give better cooling capability too right?

Just a question, I'm kinda new to winding motors.

-Chris
Some say yes because more air can move around/past the windings some suggest that multiple thinner wires will dissipate (sp?) heat better due to their higher surface area to mass ratio. I haven't seen any hard data on this one yet so the jury is still out. It probably depends on winding density.

Latrans
latrans is offline Find More Posts by latrans
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 03:05 PM
Flying motor mount master
fly_boy99's Avatar
San Jose, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
8,745 Posts
It will have better heat dissapation and will also have lower resistence.

Not to say in certain circumstances it will be much harder to wind.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaze.45
A single larger diameter strand will give better cooling capability too right?

Just a question, I'm kinda new to winding motors.

-Chris
fly_boy99 is offline Find More Posts by fly_boy99
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 04:04 PM
Electric Hippy
Brisbane
Joined Nov 2005
2,358 Posts
Nice table Olmod!
Eagleburger is offline Find More Posts by Eagleburger
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2006, 04:47 PM
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Cranbourne East
Joined Apr 2004
10,369 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagleburger
Nice table Olmod!
Ta but its not mine but some other good soul who posted it and he should get the credit. cheers.
olmod is online now Find More Posts by olmod
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2006, 08:38 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
near Nijmegen, Netherlands
Joined Feb 2001
10,180 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latrans
... some suggest that multiple thinner wires will dissipate (sp?) heat better due to their higher surface area to mass ratio...
Only in free air. Once the wire is part of a coil, the energy radiated by loop x is absorbed by it's neighbouring loops and vice versa. Net result: zero. Imagine a thick square wire, no slice it horizontally and vertically, lengthwise. Would it make a difference as far as radiation? No, only the original outside surface matters, not the new inside surfaces.

Prettig weekend Ron
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Prop Driver for an HB .20 Engine (1/4 X 28 threaded shaft W/O keyway) JackHill415 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jul 05, 2005 01:25 PM
1/4 scale cub - do I need 1/4 size servos? madkiwi Radios 5 Feb 21, 2004 11:43 AM
Rave Great Planes 1/4 Giles ARF w/OS 1.60 Houston alvin area ghenson Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 03, 2003 10:03 PM
Number 4 wire trap by Navy 1 Tim Jonas Life, The Universe, and Politics 87 Aug 14, 2003 04:31 AM
FS Brand New 8.4 600mAh Sanyo KR-600AE 1.2V nicad Battery Packs Justin Jackson Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 31, 2002 03:12 PM